Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Help please

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2009, 09:35 PM   #1
OHIOSTEVE
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 54 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default Help please

I am a rookie at this stuff and had a very successful blackberry wine using a balloon and bread yeast lol......mixed up a batch of peach and raisin wine ( 12 pounds peaches mashed...2 pounds raisins mashed....about ten pounds sugar added in thirds......bread yeast) I did everything the same as the blackberry except halfway through I found a brew store and bought airlocks, and gelatin finings and pectic enzyme etc. The wine would NOT clear so I added some poectic enzyme...It has been in secondary ( WAY too much head space I am afraid) for quite a while and todat I took an hydrometer reading. It is at 1.00 with an ABV of 0 so the fermentation is complete ( right?) I tasted the sample I used to float the hydrometer and it is absolutely horrid. I cannot adequetly describe it but it is NASTY and tastes like straight alcohol. Is it possible that 3 gallons of wine in a 5 gallon plastic bottle caused it to go bad or what?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-22-2009, 09:37 PM   #2
OHIOSTEVE
Recipes 

BTW this will NOT clear, looks like very weak chocolate milk!

Old 09-22-2009, 09:39 PM   #3
OHIOSTEVE
Recipes 

one more very very careful with cleanliness but no sanitizer when I started this batch.

Old 09-22-2009, 11:07 PM   #4
Saccharomyces
Be good to your yeast...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 81 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Hmm... where to start.

Bread yeast, I can't believe would work well for winemaking, I would start there and toss it in favor of a 79 cent pack of premier cuvee or pasteur champagne yeast next time around...