The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Grape wine tastes really floral...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2013, 01:08 AM   #1
winenewb172
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Default Grape wine tastes really floral...

So I made a wine with concord grape jam and concord grape juice and it's in the secondary now with a gravity reading of 1.01 it tastes really good but is quite flowery. Not what I expected but quite good is this normal? I'm really only used to home made country wines and sweet reds from a local winery so im no expert. Just thought I'd ask.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2013, 12:04 PM   #2
saramc
Recipes 

Liked 146 Times on 132 Posts
Likes Given: 1

What yeast did you use? What temp did you ferment at? What was OG and start date? Does it smell like geraniums by chance?

Motto: quel che sara sara

Old 03-12-2013, 02:35 PM   #3
winenewb172
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by saramc
What yeast did you use? What temp did you ferment at? What was OG and start date? Does it smell like geraniums by chance?
I used red star champagne yeast and it stayed at about 70 degrees it's very high alcohol which is what I was going for with that yeast. Idk what geraniums smell like. What's the significance?

Old 03-12-2013, 02:38 PM   #4
winenewb172
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

Didn't take a gravity reading when I started cuz I had broke my hydrometer but I'd say it was pretty high it's been going for four weeks one in primary and three in secondary

Old 03-12-2013, 10:57 PM   #5
winenewb172
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts

I think it has something to do with the yeast maybe cuz all three things I have going with it smell the same

Old 03-14-2013, 12:45 AM   #6
winenewb172
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts