Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > First Wine

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2010, 01:54 PM   #11
CandleWineProject
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by spider87 View Post
Forgive me, I'm still a newb, but I read this:

As an alternate buy a gallon jug of apple juice (no preservatives), pour yourself a glass (for head space) pour in 1 cup of regular cane sugar, and 1 pack of wine or ale yeast, replace the cap just loose enough to allow the CO2 to escape. In 3-5 days you have hard cider. Let it settle, pour off into an empty leaving the trub. Foolproof.
I slept on this, and it occurred to me that after 3-5 days, it starts fermenting and yes, you have the start of hard cider. The next line says let it settle, which is correct, it just doesn't say that it takes how long it takes to settle, so it is misleading.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2010, 02:36 PM   #12
spider87
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by CandleWineProject View Post
I slept on this, and it occurred to me that after 3-5 days, it starts fermenting and yes, you have the start of hard cider. The next line says let it settle, which is correct, it just doesn't say that it takes how long it takes to settle, so it is misleading.
Ahh makes sense... But, once it's not bubbling anymore, do I just let it sit for a while until it's cleared up? I dumped it in the sink (the apple 'cider' I attempted) into a spaghetti pot that I then let sit for a week or so just to see what happened. It cleared up perfectly, is that all it really needed?

Old 01-06-2010, 02:52 PM   #13
jcobbs
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts