Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Drying out kit wine

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-02-2012, 11:12 PM   #1
bluebrew1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Drying out kit wine

I have made several wine kits and they seem to turn out sweeter than similar store bought wines. I was thinking of using diffrent yeast to dry it out, or looking for grape skins. I am pretty new to wine but have been brewing beer for a while.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-02-2012, 11:50 PM   #2
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4472 Times on 3254 Posts
Likes Given: 870

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluebrew1 View Post
I have made several wine kits and they seem to turn out sweeter than similar store bought wines. I was thinking of using diffrent yeast to dry it out, or looking for grape skins. I am pretty new to wine but have been brewing beer for a while.
Which kits have you made? I do mostly reds and they've all finished dry, at .990-.994. I've never had one finish sweet.

Old 10-03-2012, 07:30 PM   #3
bluebrew1
Recipes 

I made winexpert kits. chianti and cab/shiraz

the flavor was good in both, but when we compared the chianti next to a store bought chianti there was a noticable diffrence in the "bite". I think it may be tannins. I am going to try to make the same kit agian but divide it into 2 3 gallon carboys and see if adding tannins makes a diffrence. any suggestions?

Old 10-03-2012, 08:56 PM   #4
novalou
Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 35 Posts

The "bite" could also be the acidity. You could also add tartaric acid.

Old 10-03-2012, 11:13 PM   #5
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Quote:
I made winexpert kits. chianti and cab/shiraz