The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Do I have a problem or not??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-16-2009, 02:18 AM   #1
VinoD
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Do I have a problem or not??

I am very new to this whole wine making experience. I am doing a 5 gallon batch of strawberry. Here's the recipe I'm doing (times 5 obviously).

• 4 to 5 pints strawberries
• 4 1/2 cups granulated sugar
• 1 teaspoon yeast nutrient
• 1 lemon, juice and rind
• 1 campden tablet
• 1/2 teaspoon pectic enzyme
• 1 package wine yeast
• 1 gallon water

Stir daily for five days.
Strain the must and squeeze out as much juice as you can from the fruit. Siphon into secondary fermentor and place airlock.

For a sweet wine, rack in three weeks. Add 1/2 cup sugar dissolved in 1 cup wine. Stir gently, and place back into secondary fermentor. Repeat process every six weeks until fermentation does not restart with the addition of sugar. Rack every three months until one year old.

Last Saturday, the 11th, was the 3 week rack back into the secondary with more sugar added. As of tonight, the airlock is releasing less than once every 5 minutes, if at all. I got tired watching to see if it would pop off.

Is this the expected or normal way things should be going?? The recipe says to rack and add sugar every 6 weeks until fermentation does not re-start. Seems like it's all done now, to me.

Any advice or insight would be greatly appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2009, 03:02 AM   #2
Nurmey
I love making Beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I wouldn't depend on the airlock to tell me if the wine is finished. I would not bottle anything unless I knew for sure that it wouldn't lead to an explosive situation. Are you planning on stabilizing your wine?

Old 07-16-2009, 10:18 AM   #3
VinoD
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nurmey View Post