New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > Added way too much K-meta (no, I mean WAY too much)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2012, 04:24 AM   #1
LaCroixes
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Added way too much K-meta (no, I mean WAY too much)

Since I'm new to winemaking (more of a homebrewer), I thought I'd start small with a Vintners Reserve 4-week kit.

I ended up not degassing enough before bottling, and 3 months later, my Cab-Zin blend is all sorts of bubbly. After reading many previous posts on possible remedies, I decided to take 3 gallons of my batch, pour gently back into a carboy, dose with K-meta, and splash rack over the next week or so.

The only problem? I misread the K-meta dosing amounts, and ended up adding 1 tsp/gallon. Not the stupidest thing I've done, but close.

What I want to know is, is this salvageable by further bulk aging, aggressive and frequent splash racking and/or dilution with another non-dosed wine kit? Or should I just chalk it up to experience and dump?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-03-2012, 12:26 PM   #2
gratus fermentatio
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 576 Times on 419 Posts
Likes Given: 1256

In theory, it should dissipate in time.
Regards, GF.

Old 06-03-2012, 03:07 PM   #3
Yooper
Frau Admin

Recipes 

Liked 3853 Times on 2815 Posts
Likes Given: 643

I'd try using a wine whip (like for degassing) and whip it often, and lots, for a week or two, and then taste a sample and see if you've managed to get much of it to dissipate.

Old 06-04-2012, 10:22 PM   #4
LaCroixes
Recipes 

Thanks for the responses. While waiting for advice from the forum, I poured the wine from bucket to bucket about 8 times and got a face full sulphur for my trouble.

I don't have a wine whip, but I will stir it semi-vigorously with a long-handled spoon after racking into a bucket.

Old 06-04-2012, 11:33 PM   #5
cyberlord