Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Wine Making Forum > 3 batches, 2 carboys
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2009, 01:07 PM   #1
Slipgate
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Damascus, MD
Posts: 590
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default 3 batches, 2 carboys

I have three batches of port to make; a chocolate raspberry, an orange chocolate, and a white chocolate. I only have 2 3-gallon carboys. But I do have a 5 gallon carboy. How bad would it be to use the 5 gallon carboy and leave that air gap? I know I should just buy another 3 gallon carboy but I also know I will never need three at a time again. I could also just wait 2 months until it is freed up to make the third batch I guess.

What say ye?

__________________
Slipgate is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2009, 01:08 PM   #2
cheezydemon3
Registered User
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: louisville
Posts: 12,967
Liked 1642 Times on 1235 Posts
Likes Given: 3007

Default

Should not be a problem.

Aerating should actually be more effective by shaking it.

__________________
cheezydemon3 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2009, 11:12 PM   #3
cbw
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 30
Default

>>>I will never need three at a time again

Ha!

Ha, Ha!

Now you've gone and done it.

No, you won't ever need three (carboys) at a time ... next time, you'll need FOUR carboys at the same time.

One can never have TOO MANY carboys.

Bite the bullet. Buy a three-gallon BETTER BOTTLE .... you'll thank me later.

I would also advise against putting three gallons of wine in a 5 gallon carboy UNLESS it's really early in the fermentation stages ... and even then, you are playing with fire ... ok, vinegar ...

My vote .... I think you should buy TWO more carboys. Call it a Christmas present to yourself. I guarantee you won't regret it.

>>never need three at a time again.

Thanks for the laugh. Remember, the goal is to "flood" the channel with lots and lots of wine ... it's the only way you'll ever have any wine get any "age" ... particularly if you have a wife like mine who ... well, never mind.

__________________
cbw is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2009, 11:48 PM   #4
Slipgate
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Damascus, MD
Posts: 590
Liked 14 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

LOL - yeah I thought I'd never need more than my 5 gallon one. Now I have 2 3's, 2 6's and my original 5. But I seriously don't think I will need any more 3's. They are really only for the desert port. I usually have only one going. A couple of years ago I did another one since there was a seasonal out, but this year was unusual in that we moved right when I would be making the seasonal port so I did not get to start that (would have been long done by now), plus I found my new favorite port and my wife happened to find a white desert port that she wanted to try. A perfect storm of goodness!

I think I will just make 2 of them and wait until one is done and make the third. That gives me 60 bottles to do on bottling day instead of 90 too.

__________________
Slipgate is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2009, 11:50 PM   #5
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Yooper's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upper Michigan
Posts: 61,667
Liked 4636 Times on 3367 Posts
Likes Given: 909

Default

Wait to make the third. Port kits are expensive, and you don't want to have any more than an inch of headspace from the bung, let alone 2 gallons worth.

__________________
Broken Leg Brewery
Giving beer a leg to stand on since 2006
Yooper is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-22-2009, 12:06 AM   #6
cbw
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: In front of my computer
Posts: 30
Default

well, I occasionally use two(2) Three(3) gallon carboys in lieu of one(1) six(6) gallon carboy ... which allows me to tweak half a batch while allowing the other half to age normally.

__________________
cbw is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6.5 gallon carboys for secondary w/ 5 gal. batches gubby Fermentation & Yeast 8 10-22-2009 03:39 PM
Where to buy Carboys? shoemaker27 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 10 06-26-2009 01:33 PM
Help! White 'stuff' on top of fermenting batches in carboys? kiarrith General Techniques 4 06-14-2008 05:14 PM
what do you think about these carboys? ethangray19 Equipment/Sanitation 5 03-16-2007 12:52 AM