Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Brewing > Whirlpooling

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2013, 04:30 AM   #21
craigmw
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I've done two BIAB batches now with a friend of mine. He's been brewing on his RIMS system for many years, and I've been brewing with him for about the last 4 years. We both noticed that whirlpooling before cooling in a counterflow chiller did not give the same result as we've always seen with RIMS mashing. The BIAB whirlpooling left quite a bit of suspended hops and trub floating at the bottom of the kettle as the wort was drained out, even with a Whirfloc tablet added. With the RIMS, we usually see a compact cone of trub. But, the BIAB trub seemed less dense, almost greasy. Much more of it ended up in the fermenter than similar brews using the RIMS approach. I think this is likely due to the fact that we've used double milled grains. Even so, these beers turned out excellent, with nice clarity. So in the end, try whirlpooling with a paddle or long spoon when you shut off the heat in the boil kettle, but don't be too concerned if you find more trub in the fermenter. As for hop gunk getting stuck in a CFC, a torpedo tube or hop bag might be a good way to prevent clogs.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2013, 04:51 AM   #22
shuckit
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 16

I whirlpool using a pump and let it settle before racking to a carboy. Used a hop spider for a while but have good clean beer without one.

Old 08-24-2013, 01:11 PM   #23
JoppaFarms
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 7