Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Brewing > What am I missing with BIAB?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2013, 09:34 PM   #1
jamorgan3777
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default What am I missing with BIAB?

When I started brewing about two years ago, I did a few extract batches and then went straight to BIAB and all grain. I never even considered a 2 or 3 vessle systems and have made many great brews (in my and my neighbors opinions). However, I am now looking to go from gas fired BIAB to electric BIAB and was wondering if I should consider going 3 vessel HERMS or RIMS. I LOVE the simplicity of BIAB but almost all of my parts can be used in a 3 vessel system. What am I missing out on? Why do so many people go 3 vessel?

Primary 4: Empty

Tap 1: Pilsner/Hallertauer SMaSH
Tap 2: Irish Red Ale
Tap 3: Cascade Pale Ale
Keg 4: Pilsner/Hallertauer SMaSH
Keg 5: Empty

Next Project: Portable CO2 Dispensing System

Next Brew: ???

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2013, 10:06 PM   #2
LuiInIdaho
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 23

Here is my two cents worth. I think that many people got into all grain brewing before there were accepted procedures such as batch sparging or no sparge methods. That is, they got their systems set up before BIAB brewing really became popular. I am not sure that there are that many people moving from BIAB to Three-Vessel brewing. I do know that there are some who are moving from Three-Vessel brewing to BIAB because of the simplicity of it all.

I have not done BIAB, but I am intrigued by the idea.

Mark

Old 08-09-2013, 10:25 PM   #3
BigFloyd
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 626 Times on 548 Posts
Likes Given: 575

I went from traditional mash tun (cooler) AG and kettle on a propane burner to single vessel recirculating E-BIAB with a 15.5 gallon keggle and plate chiller.