Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Brewing > Modified BIAB Process Thought

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2013, 04:18 PM   #1
jleiii
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Modified BIAB Process Thought

I've done a few BIAB brews using Beersmith, and I'm not wholly impressed with my results. I'm studying up on the way mash time and temp impacts the end beer to address that part, but I need to be able to better manage the process as well. I think my process was negatively impacting the mash.

I have a 30 qt pot that based on actual measurement is more like 28 (7 gal). For full batch mashing this is too small, but a bigger pot is not an option. I'm too 'invested' in this one, plus I think my modified process will resolve this.

The last 2 brews I did were with 24 qts of water in the pot which leaves enough room for a good grain bill. After the mash is over I lift the bag out (and into the 'steamer basket' that came with the pot - more on that later) and do 2 batch sparges for about 2 more gallons and leave it to drain while I start the boil. I've hit my preboil volume and OG fairly close this way so far.

I'd like to use Beersmith to accurately build the full recipe and brew process, but as soon as I click BIAB it sets the initial water to 28+ qts, and won't let you edit it. What I'm wondering is if it's possible to use a standard single infusion process in Beersmith and adjust my water numbers to target my desired 24 qts. I know that BIAB is supposed to be full volume no sparge with results that can compete with regular AG, but I really think I can make my process very efficient without loosing any benefits of BIAB.