Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Brewing > BIAB Brewing (with pics)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-28-2012, 07:29 PM   #1101
Mysticmead
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Quote:
Originally Posted by slcdawg View Post
And a 2nd question. When steeping, Palmer and others say not to squeeze the bag to prevent extracting tannins. But, many posts on this thread suggest doing just that. Is Palmer just out of date? Do you not have to worry about it as long as the temp is low?

Cheers!
Quote:
Originally Posted by eulipion2 View Post
Think of it this way: the grain bed of a massive commercial brew (BMC) is going to put more pressure on the grains than you will ever achieve. BMC beers are not known for their astringency or tannins. As long as your pH and temp are reasonable, you really don't need to worry. I've been doing BIAB for the last four years, squeezing the bejeezus out of the grain, and have never had tannins.

^^^^^ that right there...

Tannins are not extracted by pressure, they're not extracted by temp.. it takes PH. since BIAB typically does no sparge, the PH won't get out of hand. Even a pseudo sparge or a dunk sparge isn't enough to get the PH out of control and extract tannins. In a traditional 3V setup, you sparge until you hit 1.010 generally. After that PH becomes an issue and you extract tannins.

Temp isn't an issue, otherwise decoction mashing would result in beers that are all tannins no other flavors.

pressure, as mention above isn't an issue either.

BIAB takes a lot of what was previously thought to be hard facts about brewing and tosses it out the window. Embrace the change, squeeze the bag...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 07:36 PM   #1102
slcdawg
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 20