Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > BIAB Brewing > BIAB Brewing (with pics)

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2011, 08:12 PM   #91
Mysticmead
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 70 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 106

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainman13 View Post
Has anybody had any problems with tannins from squeezing the bag? It always seemed like a no-no from what I have read, but everybody here seems to do it.
nope..not a single problem... I believe its one of those myths about brewing.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-26-2011, 01:39 AM   #92
mrmadworx
Recipes 

Ok so quick question, I'm a newb brewer and looking to go all grain. If you have a good blichmann kettle why are you using a bag? Why not just get the false bottom designed for the pot and skip buying the basket, bag and pulley system? Seems more complicated.

Old 04-26-2011, 01:41 AM   #93
jaginger
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Short answer is because you only need 1 kettle to BIAB.

Old 04-26-2011, 01:42 AM   #94
Mysticmead
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrmadworx View Post
Ok so quick question, I'm a newb brewer and looking to go all grain. If you have a good blichmann kettle why are you using a bag? Why not just get the false bottom designed for the pot and skip buying the basket, bag and pulley system? Seems more complicated.
if he skipped the bag... how would he remove the grains? remember, with BIAB you mash and boil in the same kettle.. while it is probably over kill to have a blichmann kettle, if you really think about it, does anyone really need a blichmann? its all about the bling factor...if you want it and can afford it.. then go for it

Old 04-26-2011, 01:50 AM   #95
Squirrels
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts