Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Recipe Database > HomeBrewTalk.com Recipe Database > Gluten Free > Extract - Gluten Free Belgian Strong

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2011, 02:43 AM   #1
manoaction
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default Extract - Gluten Free Belgian Strong

Friends, Americans, Obsessive Homebrewers lend me your ears...

I am posting to give you a truly fantastic GF beer.

I am not celiac, gluten intolerant, vegetarian, paleo diet or whatever. I'm a child of the 20th century that loves beer and beef. I grew up on a cattle ranch, I'm a homebrewer for my hobby, and I'm a gun lobbyist by trade.

My mother in law, however, is gluten free and my wife has a touch of the hippie to her. I don't hold this against them whatsoever.

To that end, I've brewed a gluten free beer that I find delectable, and they enjoy as well.

My fundamental concept was that sorghum doesn't taste that great. So a malt dominated style was out of the question. Hop bombs already were everywhere, so I came to the conclusion that a yeast and spice dominated flavor was the only road for a red-blooded American to take.

With that in mind, I give you this beer.

The flavor is of ginger, yeast and, after a month, a lot of banana. The head looks great in the beginning, but it fades pretty quick.

Gentle readers, I want you to know that I love this beer as I love few beers. It's tangy, yeasty, and tasty in ways that I wasn't expecting. After gelatin and a month in conditioning, it's as clear as a bell, and the flavor keeps mutating and evolving along into something better each day.

Here's my recipe.

Code:

4lb Tapioca Syrup
  2lb Sorgum Syrup
  1/2lb Beet Sugar (Cane will work too, but if you're in the West, beet is generally more common)
  1/2lb Candi Sugar

1 oz Styrian Goldings (60 minutes) 15.6 IBU  
  2 oz Saaz (15 Minutes) 12.9 IBU

Wyeast Belgian Saison Yeast (Critical to Flavor)