New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Two Wire RTD PT100 question




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2013, 07:50 PM   #1
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 24
Default Two Wire RTD PT100 question

I am having problems wiring a two wire white and black PT100 RTD that I got from Brewers Hardware to a MyPin TA4. I have set the TA4 for the proper input. Just keep getting a ULLL for the temp reading.

I have attached the wiring diagram. Any help would be much appreciated.



__________________
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2013, 08:04 PM   #2
AllanMar
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 190
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

How are you connecting it?

I'm not familiar with this PID, but from the DWG you posted PIN 7 & 10 connect to one side of the RTD and 8&9 to the other side.



__________________
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2013, 08:19 PM   #3
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 24
Default

right now I have white connected to 7 and black to 8

__________________
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2013, 08:25 PM   #4
AllanMar
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 190
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Install jumpers as shown in the diagram (7 to 10 and 8 to 9)

__________________
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2013, 08:42 PM   #5
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 24
Default

That does it! Thanks for the help!

__________________
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-30-2013, 09:29 PM   #6
AllanMar
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 190
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

No problem. Keep in mind as it's a 2-wire RTD line resistance will effect the reading, so make sure you do some sort of calibration/verification just to be sure.

__________________
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-31-2013, 01:48 PM   #7
tlb2525
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cape Girardeau, MO
Posts: 9
Default RTD's and the TA4

I buy my RTD's from Auber Instruments and they are 3-wire...2 reds and 1 white. I use the TA4 and have never had a problem.

__________________
tlb2525 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2013, 01:57 AM   #8
thirstytroll
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for the wiring configuration on this T4. this helped. I am using this for my freezer to lager. I have set the the set value to 34 degrees, the the thermocouple reads 46 degrees(in my garage which is about right ) .The freezer should turn on and nothing is happening. The manual is pathetic . Are there parameters i need to change other then the control direction to COOL ? Very frustrated. I wished i brought the most simplistic one.Please help.

__________________
thirstytroll is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2013, 10:07 PM   #9
AllanMar
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 190
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlb2525 View Post
I buy my RTD's from Auber Instruments and they are 3-wire...2 reds and 1 white. I use the TA4 and have never had a problem.
3-wire RTD's compensate for line resistance and do not usually suffer from the problems I mentioned with 2-wires.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thirstytroll View Post
Thanks for the wiring configuration on this T4. this helped. I am using this for my freezer to lager. I have set the the set value to 34 degrees, the the thermocouple reads 46 degrees(in my garage which is about right ) .The freezer should turn on and nothing is happening. The manual is pathetic . Are there parameters i need to change other then the control direction to COOL ? Very frustrated. I wished i brought the most simplistic one.Please help.
Please provide some details on how you have it wired now? Does the display indicate that the output is coming on, or no?
__________________
AllanMar is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2013, 04:54 PM   #10
thirstytroll
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks for your response. I wired the 2 wire thermocouple PT100( two identical black wires) to #7 an 8. And two wires that hop, as was described by you on a prior post. one for #7 to #10 , and #8 to #9. By doing the hops. I got a good temp reading. The (out) led light goes on like it should but the volt reading is about 11-12 volts. I also flipped the two thermo wires just to see ,and no change.



__________________
thirstytroll is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any good alternatives to Pt100 RTD ? theQ Electric Brewing 27 02-05-2013 04:32 PM
Another 3-wire/4-wire question (sorry) PopNLochNessMonsta Electric Brewing 5 10-13-2012 12:45 AM
Connecting a Three wire inline GFCI to a 4 wire Outlet? ODI3 Electric Brewing 3 10-10-2012 03:02 PM
4-wire GFCI 220 volt cable with a 3-wire dryer outlet? gshopper Electric Brewing 12 07-17-2012 11:49 PM
How-To: Pt100/RTD 1/2" NPT Thermowell PaulHilgeman DIY Projects 12 05-11-2011 10:12 PM