The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Trouble with MyPin TD4 Temp Controller

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2013, 04:13 AM   #1
Matkon
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Trouble with MyPin TD4 Temp Controller

Looking for some help with my MyPin TD4 Temp Controllers. I have two hooked up to PID's and upon turning them on for the first time they are both registering a temperature over 500 degrees.

Obviously this is incorrect, and I am unable to figure out how to fix this issue.

I am not sure if it is my wiring or something I have to do with controller.

Any one have any experience with this controller who could lend some advice.

Thanks,
Matkon

__________________
Matkon is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2013, 01:36 PM   #2
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,233
Liked 63 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Check the probe connections.

alien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 08:52 PM   #3
XJHighlander
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Default

What Thermo are you using and what are you hooking it too? It took me a while to get mine hooked up right because the instructions are so crappy. I am using a PT100 3 wire...and had to make a short jumper wire to get it to work correctly.

Works great now

__________________
XJHighlander is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 24
Default

I am having some trouble hooking up my PT100 3 wire probes up to the pid. What is the propers connection scheme for the three wire (red white black) to the MyPin TD4?

Cheers

__________________
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2013, 03:12 AM   #5
acidrain
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Cascadia, Washington
Posts: 1,430
Liked 110 Times on 96 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

The wires should be two of the same color, and one odd one. Are you saying you have three different colored wires (the actual wires, not just the connectors)?

__________________

Keg #1: Empty
Keg #2: Cascadian Stout
Keg #3: Bavarian Hefeweizen

Fermenter #1 Thor's Hammer

Superbowl champions.

acidrain is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 12:14 AM   #6
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 24
Default

Yes I have three different colored wires on the PT100 probe red, white, and black.

__________________
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-23-2013, 02:38 PM   #7
crane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 276
Liked 24 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

You need to measure the resistance between all of the wires with a multimeter. Red to black, red to white, and white to black. If you do have a 3 wire PT100 then 2 of your measurements should be 100 ohms and the third should be less than 1 ohm. The 2 wires that measure really low are the two that would normally be the same color.

If you don't measure that then you may have a 2 wire RTD with a ground shield.

__________________
crane is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-24-2013, 08:42 PM   #8
Kdubbs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Denver
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks this helps a lot. Once I determine the low resistance wires, those go to ports 8 & 9 on the My Pin TD4?

__________________
Kdubbs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-25-2013, 03:51 AM   #9
acidrain
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Central Cascadia, Washington
Posts: 1,430
Liked 110 Times on 96 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

Do you have this one? http://www.ebay.com/itm/F-C-Dual-Dis...item2570d6355a
It's 7 & 10 for the low, and 8 & 9 jumped, with A connected to either of those.

__________________

Keg #1: Empty
Keg #2: Cascadian Stout
Keg #3: Bavarian Hefeweizen

Fermenter #1 Thor's Hammer

Superbowl champions.

acidrain is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2013, 06:47 PM   #10
winterc
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Cumberland, VA
Posts: 86
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

I have this same PID and a PT100 thermocouple I bought from Amazon. Any way that I hook up the PT100 I get PV of UUUU, except when I hook it up in a way that seems wrong, and then I get -401. Do I need to set it up so that it displays -401 and then calibrate it somehow?

__________________
winterc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MYPin PID Temp Controller? SmokingDog Electric Brewing 10 06-12-2014 05:06 PM
MYPIN Temp Controller Parameters JBiermann Electric Brewing 1 09-13-2012 02:16 AM
Trouble wiring my ebay temp controller BigPatBrewer DIY Projects 14 11-04-2011 04:52 PM
Trouble with Johnson controller MikeRLynch Equipment/Sanitation 6 04-29-2010 12:42 AM