The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Temp control automation with gas burners

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-23-2012, 01:52 AM   #1
blakelyc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 34 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 84

Default Temp control automation with gas burners

Hi folks: so I am going to start experimenting with brewing automation. I have degrees in computer science and chemical engineering, so I kind of get it from a programming and control perspective, but I have zero experience with hands-on electronics.

Here's what I want to do: I want to use my kettle with a temperature controller and a gas valve to implement basic water temperature control. No big deal, just fill the thing with water, start up the controller, and at some time later have water at a stable temperature.

I use a gas burner rather than an electric element. Is there an igniter device that can be added to an existing burner? Are any of you willing to help me along? I don't mean to ask remedial questions, but I am having trouble finding clear direction to get me pointed in the right direction.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-23-2012, 02:18 AM   #2
Copbrew133
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 33

There are tons of Brutus 10, brewstand builds on here using Honeywell components. The VR8200 gas valves with thermocouples and standing pilot lights are common. I am in the process my brewery build, but haven't started a thread on it yet. The Honeywell setup on low pressure propane is the route I'm going with and also using TS2 controllers for temps. Look at the automated brewstands on here and I'm sure you'll be able to adapt what you find for your needs.

Thirsty Mutt Brewing Co.

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/my-b...-along-366645/

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/bodi...-cheap-299101/