HBT 2014 Big Giveaway - 4/10 Re-Draw Winners Posted!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > P.I.D is more of a P.I.T.A - Help with auto tune anyone?




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2012, 08:01 PM   #1
JonClayton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anderson, South Carolina
Posts: 229
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default P.I.D is more of a P.I.T.A - Help with auto tune anyone?

I have recently set up a TET-612 PID controller attached to a Honeywell VR8300a gas valve to control the mash temp on my brew stand. I have gone through the PID setup to the best of my ability (granted, that might not be much ability ) and all is well except for 2 issues.

1) Autotune has to be enabled on the PID for the system to work. Otherwise the valve will click but never open and ignite. This is really more of an observation than an issue but....

2) The real issue.. autotune stops running every 15 mins or so. It's impossible to walk away during the mash as autotune will randomly stop working and will need to be restarted. This also happens on a friends sabco brewmagic system so I am hoping its a setup issue.

Is there anything I can do to make autotune constant so that I don't have to continuously monitor it? I admit that I don't fully understand what autotune does, but as long as I can get it to stay on that is all that I care about.

Thanks for any input you can give.



__________________
JonClayton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 10:01 PM   #2
tophmck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 191
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

I don't have any experience with this controller, but it sounds like you're using it in PID mode. Since you're using a gas valve, it should be in relay output mode. The manual is pretty cryptic, but I think you want outy=0.



__________________
tophmck is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-27-2012, 10:14 PM   #3
BetterSense
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richardson, Texas
Posts: 977
Liked 45 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Actual PID is in most situations not even appropriate for brewing purposes. Simple thermostatic control is what you want.

Auto-tuning is not something that you use normally. It's a routine that you can run, and the PID controller software will 'learn' your system so that it can optimize overshoot etc.

__________________
BetterSense is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 01:32 AM   #4
JonClayton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anderson, South Carolina
Posts: 229
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks everyone. I will experiment with changing the Outy setting tomorrow. I am pretty sure I left it as default value 2. BetterSense, thanks for clarifying that for me. I thought from my understanding that autotune was only so that it could learn the system but then it confused me that it would only control the valve with AT turned on. Hopefully the settings change clears things up.

If I can get this going and receive my new false bottom from Jaybird I think i'll be in business.

__________________
JonClayton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 03:04 PM   #5
JonClayton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anderson, South Carolina
Posts: 229
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

No dice setting outy to 0. When set to 0 the gas valve does not open (or even click) to light the burner. Any other thoughts?

Thanks!

__________________
JonClayton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-28-2012, 04:55 PM   #6
tophmck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 191
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Which terminals do you have the gas valve hooked up to? And what are your settings for AH1 and AL1?

__________________
tophmck is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 04:00 PM   #7
JonClayton
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anderson, South Carolina
Posts: 229
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Top, good question. A friend wired up the controller for me. I will check it out when I am home this evening and report back.

__________________
JonClayton is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 05:40 PM   #8
tophmck
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 191
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonClayton View Post
Top, good question. A friend wired up the controller for me. I will check it out when I am home this evening and report back.
OK. From the behavior you describe above, my guess is that the gas valve is currently hooked up as if it were an SSR (terminals 6 and 7). But the manual says that for outy=0 mode, "Relay J1 and J2 as Alarm outputs; SSR Disabled, normally used for upper/lower limits alarm trigger control". In other words, you want to hook up the gas valve to J1 (terminals 4 and 5 – see the attached terminal assignments below).

Also, it sounds like you might be trying to set your desired temperature using SV. But you're using the J1 relay to fire your burner (effectively the burner is a low temp alarm), so you need to use AL1 and AH1 to set the desired temperature. Note that AH1 is the temperature you want the burner to fire at and AL1 is the temperature at which it should turn off. (See the attached Figure 5 below.) Note that AL1 must be higher than AH1.

So, just as an example, if you want to maintain a mash temp of 152, you might try setting AH1 to 151 and AL1 to 153.

Good luck!




__________________
tophmck is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-29-2012, 06:02 PM   #9
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,566
Liked 119 Times on 96 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BetterSense View Post
Actual PID is in most situations not even appropriate for brewing purposes. Simple thermostatic control is what you want.

Auto-tuning is not something that you use normally. It's a routine that you can run, and the PID controller software will 'learn' your system so that it can optimize overshoot etc.
Yeah, and maybe it's your point but I'm thinking auto tune doesn't work for simple on/off control?
__________________

Primary: Edwort's Apfelwein
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Bottled: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein
Drinking: Hank's Hefeweizen
Drinking: Maibock

"Charlie don't surf."

whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-30-2012, 03:18 AM   #10
crane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 247
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoaru99

Yeah, and maybe it's your point but I'm thinking auto tune doesn't work for simple on/off control?
Auto tune is used to calculate the gain coefficients for the PID control algorithm, so you are correct it doesn't work for simple on/off control.


__________________
crane is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Auber 2352 Auto tune issue frankstoneline Electric Brewing 6 11-21-2011 06:26 AM
For Sale - Wanted: Auto/Semi-Auto All-Grain System (So. Cal) ocluke For Sale 4 10-08-2010 08:18 PM
HOW TO: Manually Tune a PID CodeRage DIY Projects 7 04-20-2010 03:18 PM
IBU tune in ChickenSoop Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 11 01-12-2009 06:57 PM