Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > New Retail Programmable Thermostat

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-23-2013, 08:35 AM   #1
Ruprect
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default New Retail Programmable Thermostat

Hey all!

I've mentioned this project before on this site, but it's been quite awhile and the project has migrated some since then.

I am an electrical engineer and had an idea last year to design/build a programmable thermostat to control a fermentation device. It turned out really well and I decided to give it a name, make a business around the idea (Ohmbrew Automations) and go into production with them. Since then, I've currently built a dozen units of the 'Fermostat' and have sold them to a group of local early adopters to refine the device before I go into a larger scale production with them.

Basically, the retail version will be a programmable, dual-stage thermostat for a fermentation device or even just controlling your kegerator/keezer. It has the ability for the user to create and store a program (or several) that creates a temperature profile for your chamber. This is especially useful for when fermenting a lager where you have to slowly lower the temperature after brewing to the ferment temperature, then slowly increase the temperature over time to do a diacelyl rest, then again lower the temperature to lager the brew. With the Fermostat, you can create this program (or use one of the pre-set ones). Running this program will take care of the whole process from start to finish without any user interaction required.