Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Mounting of DS18B20 in Keggle

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2013, 05:52 PM   #1
waldzinator
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Mounting of DS18B20 in Keggle

Hi,

I just started all-grain brewing, but I am a hobbyist who enjoys all things computers and programming. My current setup is two converted kegs for my HLT and Kettle, and a 10 gallon cooler for my MLT. I have some experience with using the Arduino Uno. I have read a lot of good things about the One Wire protocol on the Dallas temp sensors. I can handle the electronics side of things. I have a more practical question. How are you mounting them in your keggles? I see brewinghardware.com sells the sensor with pre-attached thermowells. What's the best way of mounting these in the keggle? It appears they use a compression fitting. What size hole do these fittings take?

I realize this is kinda a broad question. Just trying to get some ideas before I go drilling into a perfectly good keg and realizing I screwed up.

Thanks.

Na zdrowie!

Primary: I think I'm turning Japanese APA
Secondary: Chocolate Wheat Porter
Bottle: Wynona's Big Brown Ale Clone, Hefeweizen

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-29-2013, 07:28 PM   #2
BenS
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

1/2" NPT threaded thermowell w/ a 1/2" NPT nut and o-ring. I siliconed the temp sensor directly into the thermowell after wrapping the electrical connections in shrink tubing.

Old 03-30-2013, 01:11 AM   #3
waldzinator
Recipes 

Makes sense. I was torn between doing it that way and this . I guess I was kinda leaning towards the compression fitting since they also sell a probe epoxied into a SS tube. However, I guess the end result is the same, and I wouldn't have to piss around with a compression fitting. Thanks!

Na zdrowie!