Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Electric BrewGaLoo 2.0 Automated Brutus 20 8-Valve System

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2012, 02:05 AM   #41
Squeeky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Emjay,

Of course you can! Just let me know how I can help, I'm not an expert in anyway just figuring things out as I go. One thing I did for about a week was keep the Brewtroller IRC channel up on my desktop. Come home from work and read the back log, nice to have others ask the questions and I just sit back and take it all in

My system is running off the BT3.3, which has been replaced by 4.0 and now DX1. In a dream world I would later upgrade to the DX1 and use it for ferm control, brewery, etc. That thing will be able to do it all, but also comes at a higher price point.

I got an email from GreatBrewEh that my pumps are shipping next week, that means all parts will be in. I want to do things right so I'm probably going to wait till I can use a drill press to cut holes in my enclosure. The disadvantage to living in a condo

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-17-2012, 02:15 AM   #42
carlisle_bob
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts

Hi

With anywhere near 20 valves, you will have multiple valve closing / opening at the same time. Diode logic is your friend. Run the valves off of DC (24V is a good pick) and diode vote them. That gets your actual control lines down by half or more. Diodes are *cheap* relays cost money.

Bob

Old 06-17-2012, 04:50 AM   #43
emjay
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1714 Times on 1602 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeeky
Emjay,