New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Brewtroller on an Arduino Mega Help




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2014, 08:47 AM   #41
rocket4x4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electrocohort View Post
Hi guys. I was able to get the brewtroller running on my Arduino Mega 2560 by simply following the directions on the Brewtroller website. The one problem I ran into was that I was upgrading the . Pde and the brewtroller code will not run on 1.05. Once I made some pin changes the board is up and running. I will set up the encoder and temp sensors and repost. My goal is to run it with brewtroller live via the Ethernet module.
E
Great to hear that you managed to get it working! Have you made any progress that you could share?

Cheers, R


__________________
rocket4x4 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-18-2014, 10:04 PM   #42
Electrocohort
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Brewtroller Progress

Hi Everyone, I have continued to work on my MEGA with Brewtroller running but I am running out of patience. The screen boots up and the Brewtroller shows on the screen unfortunately the Encoder just will not work. Anyone else had success getting the encoder to work? The link below shows the configuration I am using. I also have been unsuccessful using the ethernet shield.

https://www.oscsys.com/sites/default/files/1000004_enc.jpg



__________________
Electrocohort is offline
BrewCityBaller Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 02:25 AM   #43
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,229
Liked 61 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

Check the FastPin library to ensure that all the pins you are using are available to the Encoder library.

alien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 04:17 PM   #44
oakey22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I have got the display working correctly and have sort of got the encoder registering too, My encoder is erratic at best and does what it wants, i presume this is because it is a cheapo one from china with a board attached to it. I might order a better one from somewhere and test that.

__________________
oakey22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-31-2014, 04:44 PM   #45
alien
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 1,229
Liked 61 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 61

Default

More likely a software issue. Interrupt based encoder routines work a lot better, from memory only 1 of the encoder pins is triggering interrupts the way it's set up by default.

alien is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2014, 04:17 AM   #46
fc36
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 332
Liked 18 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Subbed...I'm interested in ditching my pid and pwm boil controller for an arduino sometime soon.



__________________
fc36 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arduino instead of BCS or Brewtroller OEHokie DIY Projects 74 11-12-2013 03:18 PM
For Sale - 15 Gallon Mega Pot brans041 For Sale 4 12-28-2012 04:37 PM
Mega Krausen MBetz Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 02-05-2009 03:28 AM
New 15 Gal Mega Pot help Beer Please Equipment/Sanitation 7 09-19-2008 07:37 PM