Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > BCS temperature probes?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2012, 09:27 PM   #1
Malric
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: , Chicago, IL
Posts: 495
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default BCS temperature probes?

I ordered temperature probes from a vendor only to be told that they are unavailable. Does anyone have suggestions for temperature probes for the BCS?

Malric is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2012, 10:36 PM   #2
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,809
Liked 55 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

I have one from Brewers hardware they are three wire types but work great.

__________________
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2012, 11:20 PM   #3
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,458
Liked 93 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default

Did you try getting them direct from ECC? I prefer to use theirs as then you don't have to enter any coefficients for them.

__________________
Surf City Brewing (TM)

My Single Tier, 3 Pump, BCS-462, Brutus Build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/sing...ed-rig-204705/
My customized BCS-462 controller web interface: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/hack...s-done-209388/
My 8 tap, 11 keg, upright Keezer build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/upri...1-kegs-371438/
JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2012, 11:30 PM   #4
Malric
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: , Chicago, IL
Posts: 495
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

The originals were ordered from Brewers hardware, but they are back ordered for an undetermined time period.

JonW, I'll likely order them directly from ECC. Have you used them?

Malric is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-23-2012, 11:32 PM   #5
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 1,458
Liked 93 Times on 57 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default

Yes, all of my probes are direct from ECC. They work great. The default coefficients in the BCS are setup for the model of probe they sell, so you never have to mess with it. They are plug and play.

__________________
Surf City Brewing (TM)

My Single Tier, 3 Pump, BCS-462, Brutus Build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/sing...ed-rig-204705/
My customized BCS-462 controller web interface: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/hack...s-done-209388/
My 8 tap, 11 keg, upright Keezer build: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f51/upri...1-kegs-371438/
JonW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2012, 12:03 AM   #6
Malric
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: , Chicago, IL
Posts: 495
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Sounds great, thanks!

__________________
Osmosis Brewing Co. aka another electric build
Malric is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2012, 12:01 AM   #7
ghoti
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 307
Liked 20 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Are the probes from Brewers Hardware plug and play or will you have to configure them?

__________________
ghoti is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2012, 03:17 PM   #8
OneHoppyGuy
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
HomeBrewTalk 2012 Vendor Giveaway Participate
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
OneHoppyGuy's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,704
Liked 40 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 52

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ghoti View Post
Are the probes from Brewers Hardware plug and play or will you have to configure them?
You have to configure them yourself but it's very straight forward. Here are the instructions.

The probes offered by BrewersHardware are some of the best I've seen.
__________________

Brewright. All Rights Reserved. We reserve the right to brew and to help you brew. To protect the brew and defend the brew. To make the brew and drink the brew.

BrewSteel.com
BrewSteel on Facebook

OneHoppyGuy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2012, 05:43 PM   #9
carlisle_bob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Carlisle, PA
Posts: 1,205
Liked 27 Times on 26 Posts

Default

Hi

The probe bodies that Brewer's Hardware sells are very nice if you want to make your own from scratch....

Bob

__________________
carlisle_bob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-22-2012, 02:14 AM   #10
cdwiggi
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Macon, MO
Posts: 73
Likes Given: 1

Default

I ordered the M8 connection types for ease of wiring and cleanness and now he is not carrying them at brewershardware. Do you all have any suggestions as to where one may be able to find this type again?

thanks
cd

__________________
cdwiggi is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools