Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > BCS Temp Probes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2013, 02:19 AM   #1
DakotaPrerunner
Fortis et Egregius
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DakotaPrerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonds, Wa
Posts: 171
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default BCS Temp Probes

Just got my BCS Temp Probes from Brewers Hardware. I had been using an older temp probe from an unknown origin for my fermentation chamber. The temp readings where not very stable. When I did the calculations for the Steinhart–Hart coefficients it turned out that the probe was PTC instead of NTC. Now that I got the Brewers Hardware probes hooked up and the coefficients adjusted the temp readings are rock solid. I have got to say that the workmanship and quality of the Probes is second to none. Also, the BCS has been the best upgrade to my fermentation to date.

__________________
DakotaPrerunner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 03:11 PM   #2
TinTurtle
Far East Brewer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TinTurtle's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Beijing/Chicago, IL
Posts: 32
Default

I just received their RIMS setup and I will be using the BCS controller. I am trying to understand thermowells and how to deal with the sizing as well as the connection between the probe and the controller. I've gotten 90% of my hardware from Brewers Hardware and I agree, the worksmanship is excellent.

__________________
TinTurtle is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-05-2013, 03:31 PM   #3
DakotaPrerunner
Fortis et Egregius
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DakotaPrerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonds, Wa
Posts: 171
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

The temp probes are easy to hook up. There will be (in my case) a black wire, white wire, foil shield and bare wire once you strip off the insulation. The foil shield and bare wire are not needed and can be trimmed back, or see the note in the instructions. The BCS measures the resistance between the white and black wire. It does not matter which way they are hooked up. Place one wire in the TEMP0, TEMP1, TEMP2 or TEMP3 location and the other wire in the most convenient GND location. You can use the coefficients provided with the probes or calibrate them yourself. The BCS forum has a good thread on that.

__________________
DakotaPrerunner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2013, 01:23 AM   #4
RiverCityBrewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 766
Liked 26 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Save yourself future trouble while you are assembling these and tie the bare wire to system ground, especially if you are using it near an electric motor... you will have much more stable temperature readings. Before I did this I would get +/- 7F temp swings while the compressor in my freezer was running. I had also noticed noise in temp readings while my pumps were running as well. Since redoing all of my temp probes and setting the bare wire to ground I have had no further issues.

__________________
RiverCityBrewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 RTD temp probes, 1 PID DownRightAft Electric Brewing 7 04-22-2013 09:39 PM
For Sale - BCS-460 With 3 Temp Probes GoodNatureBrewing For Sale 12 12-04-2012 10:27 PM
bcs temp probes? Malric Equipment/Sanitation 4 05-24-2012 12:02 AM
two temp probes, one PID? Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 4 01-03-2012 08:36 PM