Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Automated Brewing Forum > Automated volume sensing idea/help

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-14-2012, 02:18 AM   #11
Vesku
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 20 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Yes it can, that's what I'm planning to do. And then use that info with the Arduino. Try "Wheatstone bridge" in the Google.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-14-2012, 03:58 AM   #12
matho
Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I use load cells out of a cheap electronic bathroom scales and use a single supply instumentation amp

R3 thru to R6 represents the load cells, I have adjusted the gain to give me 5v at 102.3 kg which gives me 100mL resolution on a 10 bit ADC. I have been using it on my HLT for a couple of years now and has worked well, my theory is that if you know how much water you put in you will be able to work out how much you will get out because losses are fairly static.

cheers steve

Old 12-14-2012, 01:51 PM   #13
ryan_george
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 6

I guess all of these load measurements are only good if you're dealing with straight water? Or if you know the SG of your wort....

Old 12-14-2012, 02:06 PM   #14
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png

Recipes 

Liked 3480 Times on 2154 Posts
Likes Given: 2990

Best way is to submerse 2 parallel electrodes in there and measure the resistance (conductivity) between them. The electrodes could be sank into the kettle, or in a sight-gauge-like assembly outside the main volume.

The electronics to monitor doesn't need to be complex; a simple voltage divider would work.