Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Brewing Events & Local Gatherings > International > Canadian Roll Call!!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2012, 03:08 AM   #31
MoreHops
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Thanks gbx. But I should've elaborated -- I meant that I was futzing with water chemistry by adding a bit of gypsum to make my yeast happier (Ca2+) and sulphate to make the hops "pop" a bit more. I'm going to experiment with CaCl2 to play with maltiness. And then ratios (Beersmith to the rescue!). I like experimenting (I have a PhD in a science field....so it's a little engrained). ;-).
Just an example of why i like to experiment/test: Van water SUPPOSEDLY has a pH in the range of ~6.7. However, when I test it straight out of my tap or after leaving water out overnight, I get readings of ~5.2 (good for mashing, but the fish in my aquarium aren't terribly excited about it...). Maybe it's just my neighbourhood or house. I've been contemplating a Ward Labs analysis...
That all being said, I had read AJ's water primer a while ago and thought it was an excellent resource. It actually got me started at looking into my water. But I'm not trying to change my water too much... just trying to get it "perfect" (for the style of beer)...
Cheers!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2012, 03:27 AM   #32
Sock
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Yo Vancouver All Grainer....

Old 11-23-2012, 04:06 AM   #33
gbx
Recipes 

Liked 68 Times on 57 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MoreHops View Post