Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > Brewing Events & Local Gatherings > Competition Recipe Requirement

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2011, 12:01 AM   #1
2337me
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Competition Recipe Requirement

I'm thinking about entering my first competition and noticed in the rules that those who advance to the 2nd round, must submit their recipe. I wanted to know how others felt about that.

I don't mind sharing most of my recipes but I do have a couple that I have been working on for a few years and those are near and dear to me. I don't believe that you are required to give up recipes in national BBQ or Chili cook offs. Those are guarded secrets and that is how I feel about a couple of my recipes.

Does anyone else feel the same?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-23-2011, 12:10 AM   #2
Zen_Brew
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Well I guess the bottom line is if you are thinking of going pro, and you have a really unique and wonderful recipe, you shouldn't enter it into any contests requiring recipe submission.

I would guess there are a couple reasons why they require a recipe. Among them:
- They want to ensure entrants are not re-bottling commercial brews. A recipe would let them test for claimed ingredients.
- They want to see what trends are emerging in brewing ingredients and recipes
- They want to post great recipes in their magazine and give credit to the brewer

Using the mind to look for reality is delusion. Using your senses to look for reality is awareness.

"One time I was so desperate for a beer I snuck into the football stadium and ate the dirt under the bleachers." Homer Simpson

Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Hoppiness

Old 03-23-2011, 12:10 AM   #3
Revvy
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2728 Times on 1636 Posts
Likes Given: 3485