Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Windows Vista Blows
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2008, 11:08 PM   #21
Rick_R
Still Love Fried Chicken
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rick_R's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southeastern US
Posts: 965
Default

Quote:
I have few issues with the way Vista is laid out. It's pretty easy to use. My problem with Vista is that it's completely bloated.
You beat me to the punch, I was about to say the same thing -- so, +1.

Rick
__________________
Rick_R is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-22-2008, 11:24 PM   #22
Redweasel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Redweasel's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 416
Default

I've only been using Vista for a couple of months and it is a memory hog. For someone who is only a tiny bit computer savy is there a way to keep it from using so much space?

__________________
Redweasel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2008, 12:17 AM   #23
-Dan-
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 493
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Dog View Post
To me MS has some responsibility for making sure the drivers will work. I don't think the software is ready for release otherwise.
Drivers are always produced by the hardware's manufacturer. If you are looking for drivers, first go on your laptop/desktop manufacturer's webpage. If they can't be found there, go to the actual device manufacturer's webpage. As long as the hardware is supported in general for the OS (i.e. Vista) there will be drivers. Also, sometimes the device manager in Windows doesn't regocnize the hardware. The problems usually solves itself when you try to install the driver.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Redweasel View Post
I've only been using Vista for a couple of months and it is a memory hog. For someone who is only a tiny bit computer savy is there a way to keep it from using so much space?
You can't really downgrade from using that much space unfortunately. At least to my knowledge you can't. The standard requirements are up quite a bit compared to XP. In case you want Vista to stop being annoying, ease the user control settings, etc.
__________________

Kulturgüter Hopfen und Malz, Gott erhalt's!

-Dan- is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-23-2008, 12:34 AM   #24
NitrouStang96
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
NitrouStang96's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 591
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

XP 64-bit FTW. Also got OSX 10.4 on this machine and another.

__________________
NitrouStang96 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2008, 10:11 AM   #25
Kauai_Kahuna
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 2,276
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

As a long time user, Ubuntu seems to be the easiest that most people use, I stick with Fedora, Core 9 came out recently and outside of some issues with getting the right driver for my Nvidia card it works great. (The problem was Fedora went to the beta X11 server, and Nvidia at the release did not support beta X11 systems.) All fixed now.

__________________
Kauai_Kahuna is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2008, 04:07 PM   #26
RodfatherX
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 465
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redweasel View Post
I've only been using Vista for a couple of months and it is a memory hog. For someone who is only a tiny bit computer savy is there a way to keep it from using so much space?
There is a way. Google Vista tweaks. You can make it run with much less memory load. It will still be a hog compared to xp, but it will be much better that what it originally comes set to.

My last gf's parents bought her a laptop with vista on it. Out of the box the thing would lag when typing. I'm talking bad.....you couldn't even use the stupid thing it was so bad. I turned down all of vista's bells and whistles and it helped a lot.
__________________
RodfatherX is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2008, 04:12 PM   #27
Weizenheimer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 226
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Just get a mac... I see no reason to stay on PC these days.

__________________
Weizenheimer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-26-2008, 04:38 PM   #28
wihophead
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Racine, Wisconsin
Posts: 706
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris_Dog View Post
Last night updater installed SP 1 and now Vista doesn't recognize my sound cards driver. As yet there is no new driver. As a result my new (expensive) laptop is now without sound. I can't wait to find out what else it can't do!!!

My 1st computer (nearly 20 years ago) was a Mac I think my next one will be too!
I also had this issue, I used method 5...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/948481
__________________
wihophead is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Windows 7 just be a stripped down, final version of Vista? GilaMinumBeer General Chit Chat 23 06-03-2009 09:32 PM
The Memory Hog - Windows Vista brauhaus General Chit Chat 8 07-28-2008 04:19 PM
Windows Vista Compatability Hell Brew Brewing Software 4 07-13-2008 04:56 PM
Vista TxBrew General Chit Chat 55 10-10-2007 05:35 PM
Windows Vista Tony General Chit Chat 53 03-08-2007 06:51 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS