Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Ugggh. Can anyone at Kodak write code that works?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2008, 01:36 PM   #1
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 47,372
Liked 4692 Times on 4348 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default Ugggh. Can anyone at Kodak write code that works?

I have a Kodak AiO5100 printer/scanner/copier and I'll be damned if just once they issue an update that actually works.

Granted they don't update very often but, they update often enough that I forget the troubles I had with the last update.

I turn off all of my security features firewall, spamblocker. pop up blocker, spyware blocker, etc... start up the update and goes well til it gets to the install portion and then bam, nothing. After an hour or so of no progress I end up shutting down the install process, removing the software, and have to search for Kodaks clean utility and I'll be damned if that doesn't hang up too.

In the end the new version won't install because old files are in the way that the dang clean utility can't seem to get rid of. So I get on the line with their code monkeys in bangladesh, I think his name was literally Ghandi and what does he suggest?

To remove the software and run the clean utility. Arrrgh! When I explain what I have done what does he ask "Do you have any firewalls running" etc...

****, ****, damn, piss, poo

__________________
GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2008, 03:02 PM   #2
Loweface
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Posts: 1,042
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

I feel your pain... I found the best option is to delete their software and buy a card reader... Unfortunately for you that doesn't work for the printer and other hardware...

My camera does take good pictures though...

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
In the process of buying a bar... One drink at a time...
Quote:
Originally Posted by chortly View Post
...homebrew contains more satisfactrons per serving, so you don't have to drink as much as you would a commercial beer to get to your satisfactron saturation.
Loweface is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2008, 03:13 PM   #3
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 47,372
Liked 4692 Times on 4348 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default

I don't even use their camera software. I am talking just the software for the printer. The printer actually does a good job of making photo's and it scans nicely too.

If you can install the software to run it.

I suppose it's a good thing I don't have a Kodak camera. Cause then I might be compelled to use that software too.

__________________
GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2008, 03:32 PM   #4
Loweface
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Limerick, Ireland
Posts: 1,042
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

They try to make you... But a card reader gets around that... It's a pain when you are in someone elses home (with no card reader) and they want a copy of the pics as you can't get them without the software... It's not even a standard jack so you'd need their cable too..

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Me
In the process of buying a bar... One drink at a time...
Quote:
Originally Posted by chortly View Post
...homebrew contains more satisfactrons per serving, so you don't have to drink as much as you would a commercial beer to get to your satisfactron saturation.
Loweface is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2008, 03:38 PM   #5
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 47,372
Liked 4692 Times on 4348 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default

I use a card reader at home but, my Canon does have the ability to upload pictures using a standard windows wizard via USB. So, that's a plus. I just got tired of having to connect the camera and have it on while it uploads.

__________________
GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-03-2008, 02:40 AM   #6
malkore
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
malkore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 6,922
Liked 32 Times on 30 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

that's hilarious.

why?

I work for a scanner software company, like, expensive scanners. Kodak's top of the line scanners go through phases where the drivers cause issues. Examples: can't switch to color scanning and back to black and white without rebooting the computer and scanner - the next version that fixed that broke duplex (double-sided) scanning - and most of the time a Kodak scanner won't wake-up from power saving mode, so you have to reboot it.

Fantastic.

__________________
Malkore
Primary: English Mild
On tap: Pale Ale, Lancelot's Wheat, English Brown Ale, Steam Beer, HoovNuts IPA
Bottled: MOAM, Braggot, Raspberry Melomel, Merlot, Apfelwein, Pyment, Sweet mead, Cabernet
Gal in 2009: 27, Gal in 2010: 34, Gal in 2011: 13, Gal in 2012: 10
malkore is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2008, 01:31 PM   #7
GilaMinumBeer
In yo' garage, steelin' yo parts.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 47,372
Liked 4692 Times on 4348 Posts
Likes Given: 58

Default

Chat support was useless and extremely frustrating.

Eventually, I forced the install through by rebooting in "Safe Mode with Networking". I still had some issues gettiing the older version cleaned up and the new version installe but was able to work through.

This is the 3rd update I have attempted since buying the AiO5100 - All In One - Printer/Scanner/Copier and I hope I have my brain in tact when the next one comes so I will remember to NOT INSTALL the new updates. If it ain't broke.........

__________________
GilaMinumBeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-08-2008, 02:49 PM   #8
david_42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Willamina & Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,651
Liked 133 Times on 126 Posts

Default

I have a Kodak digital camera & finally tossed it. Tried a firmware upgrade to fix a problem & even though their software claimed the update took, the camera was unusable and "out of warranty". Their photo editing software never worked well either.

__________________

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

david_42 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i write a commercial review?? Donthoseme HomeBrewTalk Announcements & Feedback 2 03-11-2009 07:09 PM
Don't be a newb: Write it down! JPicasso Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 03-01-2009 02:14 PM
Anyone use those Kodak photo scanners? MikeInCtown General Chit Chat 0 03-24-2008 03:00 AM
Help! Brewing as I write... Brew_Meister General Techniques 2 06-16-2006 08:47 PM
Kodak Help Beer Snob General Chit Chat 3 02-26-2006 02:18 AM