*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Those of you who work at home, what do you do??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2008, 07:09 PM   #1
LoneOakDesign
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 2 Posts

Default Those of you who work at home, what do you do??

So I'm burned out at work. I'm a mechanic and have been for 5 years now. With the economy the way it is, work has been slow. So slow that it has given me a lot of time to think. I'm 29 years old and my whole body has aches and pains now that I didn't have 5 years ago. This career is wearing me out. I would love a stay at home job, but have no idea what kind of opportunities are out there. My wife is pregnant with our first child and I think the ability to stay home and work would be very beneficial with a newborn around. I know quite a few of you work at home. What are some of the pros and cons of doing so? And exactly what kind of job do you have?? Just looking for some ideas to toss around. Thanks in advance for any replies.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2008, 07:22 PM   #2
Saccharomyces
Be good to your yeast...
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 80 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I work from home most of the time. I'm a software engineer working for a California company. With a cable Internet connection, a nice PC with 2 20" monitors, and a kegerator close by I don't miss the office much.

As for disadvantages, I do miss going into the office and hanging out with co-workers, especially the beer socials. When I come into the office for the company I work for now it's a field office mostly with sales people I don't work with, and they don't do anything social.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soperbrew
big brother only monitors facebook and untappd

Old 11-05-2008, 07:48 PM   #3
Beerthoven

Recipes 

Liked 11 Times on 10 Posts
Likes Given: 2