Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway - Last Chance to Enter!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Snap crackle pop electrical help needed
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2014, 01:54 PM   #1
Snagg30341
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Snap crackle pop electrical help needed

I just moved a wall electric outlet from the side of the wall to the adjacent closet wall. Basically I pulled the walls through a 6 inch wall and mounted a new outlet box. This is all so I can hide wires on flat screen tv. Any who, when I was putting tv back on mount it made a weird plastic loud pop. Ever since then when it is plugged in it pops the cb. I thought it was my install and have checked the wires 4 times. All looks good. I plugged the tv. In a different outlet in bathroom and it blew gfci. I also plugged it in kitchen and it sparked greenish at the cord and blew gfci. A DVD player and sat received power fine I. New outlet and don't trip the cb. I'm guessing the LCD tv is gone and that's what is tripping cb. I'm going to buy receptacle tester today to triple check new outlet. Then buy new tv. You guys agree? Any ideas or insight. Thanks in advance.

__________________
Snagg30341 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 01:56 PM   #2
Snagg30341
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

To clarify the pop was when we were hanging it up. No power was on.

__________________
Snagg30341 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 10:43 PM   #3
grathan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 1,916
Liked 113 Times on 85 Posts
Likes Given: 68

Default

I checked a couple outlets yesterday with a cheap tool. It showed that when I wiggled the plug in the outlet that the neutral and hot were getting reversed somehow. Anyhow it might pick up on some wiring problems as well.

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/pro-a...eptacle-tester



Personally I feel that sheet-rock is easier to replace than a home. Don't be afraid to tear apart a wall to see if the sheathing on a wire has been damaged by your pulling or drilling.

__________________
grathan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 10:50 PM   #4
Snagg30341
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thanks for the reply. I got a receptacle tester and it shows fine. Bought new tv and all works fine. I think it was old tv.

__________________
Snagg30341 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 10:55 PM   #5
Rhumbline
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Daytona Beach, Florida
Posts: 651
Liked 199 Times on 135 Posts
Likes Given: 105

Default

I'm guessing the tv was plugged in when you were hanging it?

If I understand your post you've narrowed it down to the tv. Maybe you pinched the cord or damaged the plug when hanging it.

If it's the kind of power cable that can be swapped out I'd do that before trashing the tv.

__________________
Rhumbline is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-19-2014, 11:00 PM   #6
Snagg30341
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

No it wasn't powered when hung up. I think maybe internal piece broke later causing arcing or something. In other outlet in kitchen when I plugged it in the final time it shot green spark and tripped gfci.

__________________
Snagg30341 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2014, 01:36 AM   #7
Snagg30341
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 87
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I'm thinking it's all good. Outlet tested fine. New tv works fine. Cb hasn't tripped since old tv gone. That seem rational?

__________________
Snagg30341 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2014, 01:49 AM   #8
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 19,433
Liked 3513 Times on 2170 Posts
Likes Given: 3013

Default

Maybe the screws that hold the VESA mount to the tv went too deep and hit a ckt board.

I have a big plasma (60") that stopped working in November. I opened it up, bought used replacement boards off ebay, and replaced them one at a time until the problem went away. Cost me less than $100. I realize you've moved on (with your new TV), but I thought I'd mention my story so others know you can fix these things.

__________________
Hey goomba I love how you dance the rumba
But take some advice paisano learn-a how to mambo
If you're gonna be a square you ain't-a gonna go anywhere.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinner snap ring needed Dgonza9 Bottling/Kegging 0 05-22-2011 11:03 AM
Electrical Help Needed WrongCoastBrewery DIY Projects 2 12-07-2010 03:24 AM
Electrical Help Needed- Ranco 11200? HokieBrewer Equipment/Sanitation 5 07-22-2010 03:20 PM
Electrical help needed - appliances BrewSpook General Beer Discussion 19 05-14-2010 12:33 PM
electrical help needed rod DIY Projects 15 02-17-2010 07:06 PM