Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Questions on Scent Masking for Veteran Hunters

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2008, 06:57 PM   #1
Evan!
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Questions on Scent Masking for Veteran Hunters

I've been hunting deer for 4 or 5 years now. Never gotten really crazy about it; I still just roll with the trusty .35 Remington from my Pa, and just go sit in the woods and wait.

Well, a couple days ago, I went to my mom's house (where I hunt, she's got some land in the woods at the base of a mountain) and went out around 6:30am. I spooked a few deer, but it was too early to shoot, as the sun was still down. I waited another couple hours, but saw nothing. Now, realize that she has a TON of deer, you see them all the time all around her property, and I've killed plenty). Anyway, I went looking around, and found a few places where I know they like to hang out, and their trails were littered with scat (right on the edge of a power company cleared swath), and decided to build my treestand there.

After about 4 hours trudging back and forth from the house, and a lot of hard manual labor, the stand was built, and I went out yesterday morning at 5:30, hoping to beat them to the spot. I sat motionless in the stand, and about half an hour later (still pitch black dark), I heard them in their "spot" just off the clearing. They started huffing and hissing, and ran off---like they usually do when I spook them.

Now, given that I had not made a move or a sound in over 30 minutes, the only thing I can think of is that they smelled me. The wind was pretty high yesterday, and it was moving in different directions every 5 minutes. From what I understand, their sense of smell is 100 times greater than ours...and if they get a strong smell of a human, they'll get spooked pretty easily.