Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Persistent Heartburn

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2011, 08:04 PM   #1
m_c_zero
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 122 Times on 94 Posts
Likes Given: 188

Default Persistent Heartburn

Pretty random topic here, but figured some of you out there may have/still are experiencing the same thing...

Anyhow, I've suffered from killer heartburn for about as long as I can remember. Since the age of 14 or so, I started on a daily TUMS regiment. It started out slowly, but towards the end, I was taking at least 10 or more TUMS a day and still having out-of-control heartburn. Around age 25, I started taking Wal-Mart's generic Prilosec once a day because I was sick and tired of eating chalk. I've been doing so now for a little over 3 years now. I pretty much have to take it every day because on most of the days I don't take it or forget to take it, I get heartburn. The packaging says take once a day for 14 days and then you're supposed to stop taking it, but in my case I can't. I saw a doctor about it and he really didn't tell me anything, asked me what I was taking and I told him and he said just to continue taking them everyday. He gave me some paperwork to go have some blood tests done, but I never went in, probably not the best idea, I know. Anyway, just wondering if anyone else out there experiences the same thing and what you do to avoid getting heartburn. I've tried a lot of different things, but I can't do one thing and that is change my diet even though it'd probably save me from it.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2011, 08:17 PM   #2
mojo_wire
Recipes 

Liked 27 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 5