Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > My @%*%@#$ hard drive

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-02-2007, 04:06 PM   #11
david_42
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 132 Posts

Windows (and MS DOS before) does an incredible amount of thrashing on the system files. Why it moves things around so much has always been a mystery to me, but the results are: slower operation as time goes by, which drives the need to de-frag, which drives crashes. MS actually recommended doing re-installs every year because they can't keep the file system clean.

I've been running a Linux system for five years and haven't needed to de-frag once. In my last job, we never de-fragged a single Solaris or Linux box and we had hundreds of them. Drive failures were just that, hardware burnouts, mainly motor failures after 3-4 years.

Don't get me wrong, I made my living in the 80's fixing MS problems. Bailed at 3.51

Get and external drive, backup & if you have the install disks, get a clean start. Otherwise, re-partition.

Remember one unassailable statistic, as explained by the late, great George Carlin: "Just think of how stupid the average person is, and then realize half of them are even stupider!"

"I would like to die on Mars, just not on impact." Elon Musk

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-02-2007, 05:02 PM   #12
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by david_42
...Get and external drive, backup & if you have the install disks, get a clean start. Otherwise, re-partition.
I think the Sony machines only come with those stupid 'recovery' CD's instead of a vanilla XP disk so that may restore the original partition scheme. I haven't touched a Sony machine since they first came out though so my information may be out of date.