Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > The Memory Hog - Windows Vista
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-28-2008, 01:40 PM   #1
brauhaus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
brauhaus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Susquehanna Valley, PA
Posts: 1,563
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default The Memory Hog - Windows Vista

I need some input.

I am running Windows Vista and even with the simplest applications running I was at 80%-90% memory use, AutoCAD runs slow and if I have too many applications running at once my computer is like an injured horse and just drags along.

I was running 2 DDR memory cards 512mb each to give me around 1gb of memory... I thought that would be enough, but it just wasn't...

So I now upgraded my memory to 2 DDR cards at 1gb each to give me around 2gb of memory... I think this should be sufficient. I noticed that I'm at 48% memory use running simple apps where I was once at 80+% so my memory use seems to be correct with the added 1gb.

My question; is there anything I can do to make full use of the 2gb of memory and dumb-down vista to stop hogging it all? and please, no "downgrade to Windows XP" comments as my work will not let me do that, and no "if you had a MAC" comments b/c work will not purchase XP or a MAC.

I appreicate any input.

__________________
Yes, I'm the guy who set his sniper suit on fire last halloween...

Fire/EMS of HBT.com
brauhaus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 01:44 PM   #2
John Beere
Deep Six Brewing Co.
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
John Beere's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Valdosta, GA
Posts: 2,140
Liked 35 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

This is actually by design as Vista uses a completely different approach to memory management... read about it here.

Quote:
I'm perfectly fine letting SuperFetch have its way with my system memory. The question shouldn't be "Why does Vista use all my memory?", but "Why the heck did previous versions of Windows use my memory so ineffectively?" I don't know. Maybe the rules were different before 2 gigabytes was a mainstream memory configuration.
John Beere is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 01:48 PM   #3
brauhaus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
brauhaus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Susquehanna Valley, PA
Posts: 1,563
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Beere View Post
This is actually by design as Vista uses a completely different approach to memory management... read about it here.
wow... i had no idea... perhaps then my computer is ok then?

i haven't run my computer at full load yet, call me nervous, but when I do hopefully it'll behave better.
__________________
Yes, I'm the guy who set his sniper suit on fire last halloween...

Fire/EMS of HBT.com
brauhaus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 01:55 PM   #4
Brew-Happy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Posts: 1,332
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Braehaus,

I am not familiar with Vista, but my experience with XP is to remove as many unnecessary programs from the background. I assume that Vista has a program similar to Software Explorer which is part of Windows Defender.

Find this program or download from Microsoft. This will allow you to remove programs from loading during startup. This has really helped any Windows comp that I have used. You can tell how many programs are working by counting the number of icons in your system tray at the bottom right of the screen. At home, I have 4 or less running at one time. My office comp requires more but I try for 7 or less.

Edit: I just checked and it does work with Vista. Here is the website: Link

Note: Windows Defender will try and act as your spyware and firewall. Just disable it from startup with the Software Explorer to prevent this.

Good luck

__________________

Fighting Texas Aggie Class of 2003!!! Whoop!

Quote:
Now, Harry you must know all about Muggles, tell me, what exactly is the function of a rubber duck?
- Arthur Weasley

Brew-Happy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 01:57 PM   #5
jcarson83
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jcarson83's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 942
Liked 14 Times on 9 Posts

Default

2gb should be fine I would think. Just the basic stuff like turning off the sidebar and any other programs you don't need running.

__________________
jcarson83 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 02:15 PM   #6
zoebisch01
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
zoebisch01's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Central PA
Posts: 5,198
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Yeah it has a 'dynamic' memory thing which is based off of history iirc, as JohnBeere posted about. I have had great results personally. You should benchmark your system with Sisandra or something, that might help put your mind at ease.

__________________
Event Horizon ~ A tribute to the miracle of fermentation.

Brew what you like. Do this, and you will find your inner brewer.
zoebisch01 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 02:53 PM   #7
Homercidal
Moderator
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 23,872
Liked 2253 Times on 1608 Posts
Likes Given: 1240

Default

There are certain online guides out there that can help you "Lean" up the Vista. I too was ill-informed about how Vista uses memory. Makes a difference on how you percieve the OS (Although I'm sill running XP and will until the next good thing comes out.)

__________________
Homercidal is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 03:06 PM   #8
bradsul
Flyfisherman/brewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bradsul's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,908
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

The designers at our office use Inventor and we found that they needed at least 4GB of RAM in order to work effectively on Vista (even with all the bells and whistles turned off).

__________________
Brad
Canadian Brewers Unite!


Projects: Sylvania Kegerator Conversion, Tower Cooling, Grain Milling Station
bradsul is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-28-2008, 03:19 PM   #9
GunnerMan
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

2 GB is fine for your everyday user but if your into gaming/3d imaging etc etc then you will derf want 4 gb.

__________________

Primary : Honeybuns Weizen, Ode to Arthur(with partial sour)
Secondary:
Bottled: Cream of Three Crops, Hazed and Infused Clone
Planned: A green chile beer, I live in New Mexico gotta have the green chile beer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckfoot View Post
Two days into my last batch made and the scent of the farts of a thousand rhinos is permeating the basement...

Life is good...
GunnerMan is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Windows 7 just be a stripped down, final version of Vista? GilaMinumBeer General Chit Chat 23 06-03-2009 08:32 PM
Windows Vista Compatability Hell Brew Brewing Software 4 07-13-2008 03:56 PM
Windows Vista Blows Chris_Dog General Chit Chat 27 06-26-2008 03:38 PM
Windows Vista Tony General Chit Chat 53 03-08-2007 05:51 PM