Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Legalities of bartering with home brew

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2010, 01:01 AM   #1
klyph
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default Legalities of bartering with home brew

Question:

Is it legal to trade your homebrew for goods/services?

Is there a lawyer in the house?

Primary: saison
Secondary: nada
Conditioning: macaroon stout
Drinking: store bought

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-29-2010, 01:02 AM   #2
Edcculus
Recipes 

Liked 40 Times on 37 Posts

Under normal circumstances, I'd say no. But youre on the last frontier man! Barter away.

***I'm not a lawyer...and don't play one on tv, and I have a half bottle of Russian River Consecration in me now. I wouldn't trust my judgement.

Old 01-29-2010, 01:04 AM   #3
Yooper
Ale's What Cures You!
HBT_ADMIN.png

Recipes 

Liked 4636 Times on 3367 Posts
Likes Given: 909

Quote:
Originally Posted by klyph View Post
Question:

Is it legal to trade your homebrew for goods/services?

Is there a lawyer in the house?
I'm not a lawyer, so we'll wait for a real one.

But, in my opinion and understanding of the laws in my state (Michigan), that would not be legal. Since homebrew is not legally salable, and only a 6pack per person can legally be given (not sold) per person, that would seem to me to be a "no". You can give somebody a 6pack in Michigan, as far as I know, but that's it.

Old 01-29-2010, 01:10 AM   #4
Joeywhat
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by YooperBrew View Post
I'm not a lawyer, so we'll wait for a real one.