Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Learning the Guitar.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2008, 08:35 PM   #1
Orfy
For the love of beer!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 69 Times on 52 Posts
Likes Given: 30

Default Learning the Guitar.

I've bought a guitar with the intent of having a dabble.
I'm not musically talented and can not read music.

Are there any short cuts or easy learning resources you can recommend?
Or is it a long hard slog?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2008, 08:39 PM   #2
Sherpa FE
The < 1% Club

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 2

If you dont read music, play using tab. It basically shows you where to put your fingers.
I was self taught, but wish I had taken lessons, if you are just dabbling, then get some song books that have tabbed music, and teach yourself, great fun while drinking.
Josh

Old 01-20-2008, 08:40 PM   #3
Jester369

Recipes 

Liked 114 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Well, a lot depends on what kind of music you want to play - for example, for the classic rock stuff, you can get by with a simple bar chord for a ton of it, but for jazz, get ready for a lot of work. A good chord reference book will go a long way - learn the basic chords and you'll be able to play a lot of stuff pretty quickly.

Old 01-20-2008, 08:42 PM   #4
Jester369

Recipes 

Liked 114 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 3

And good luck! You'll love it! I bought my first guitar when a leg injury killed an entire season of skiing and I was looking for something else to do, and I am so glad I learned to play!

Old 01-20-2008, 09:16 PM   #5
Brakeman_Brewing
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts

A good starting point for those less musically talented would be to learn the basic open chords for guitar, and practice strumming to a metronome.