Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > I've become a beer snob...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2005, 02:36 AM   #1
Dude
Will work for beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 26 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default I've become a beer snob...

...and I'm on my way to becoming a hophead too!!!

A couple of things I've noticed since I've started brewing beer--I'm more willing to try "different" brews--which has really opened up my eyes. I never even heard of steam beer before I started brewing. That opened my eyes to Anchor, and now I'm a Liberty Ale freak. I probably never would have tried an Arrogant Bastard or a Dead Guy or anything that sounded too "bitter" but I'm glad I did! Hops rule!

As for the beer snob thing--the other night at the Queens of the Stone Age show I started the night with a Newcastle Brown Ale (up until that night it was my all-time favorite beer from the tap), and it tasted too sweet. So I went to Yeungling. OMFG I could barely finish it. It had no taste!! I finished the night by quaffing (GOD I LOVE THAT WORD!) 3 or 4 Sierra Nevada Pale Ales and then later on 2 Guinness pints. The SNPA went down so easy, and the Guinness, well, that has become my favorite beer from "the draw". I could have sat there and drank Guinness all night, had the "ride home police" not shown up.

Just thought I'd throw this out there.....

Discuss.

Up Next: Smoked Porter -- Pub Ale -- Watermelon Wheat
Planning:
Gone But Not Forgotten:

www.IronOrrBrewery.com

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2005, 02:47 AM   #2
SwAMi75

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Me too. I'll drink whatever someone hands me from their cooler, but I don't buy just any old crap for myself anymore.