Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > How far do you drive to your job??

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2008, 12:14 AM   #1
BlatzBeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default How far do you drive to your job??

I'm wondering how far you guys drive to your job. I'm looking to buy a house that about 55 minutes away from my wifes work. I'm a rep on the road so it really doesn't matter that much. It's farther away from my territory though, but I like the house. I know the gas is gonna suck.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-11-2008, 12:23 AM   #2
ScubaSteve

Recipes 

Liked 62 Times on 46 Posts
Likes Given: 11

If you can, I'd avoid it. That's an hour one way.....and your wife would be doing that twice a day, 5 days a week (depending on her schedule). I live 55-60 miles from work and it takes 60-75 mins. Sometimes longer if there's a wreck. I've been doing the drive for 2 years, and I'm SICK of it. Gas is 200+/month (that's just me, my wife spends about $150). In reality, the biggest problem I've had is that it's damaged my willingness to be involved with people/friends at work. All of our friends are about 1.5 hours away, and nobody wants to come visit because of the drive. Likewise, we don't want to go see them because it's a PITA. Sorry to be Debby Downer, but think REAL hard before you move there. Your relationship with your wife could become strained

Old 05-11-2008, 12:30 AM   #3
homebrewer_99

Recipes 

Liked 84 Times on 74 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Debbie Downer is right...(Sorry Steve... I couldn't resist...)

I live 32 miles from the city and we don't get many visitors for the same reason...which, if you like it that way is not a bad thing.

If you're on the road a lot then I would opt to move closer to where the wife works this way there's one less problem that may arise in the future.

Good luck.

Old 05-11-2008, 12:34 AM   #4
EdWort
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes