The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > How do you set up a wireless router w/o a cd

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2007, 03:08 AM   #1
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default How do you set up a wireless router w/o a cd

Hey guys I had to buy a new wireless router bc our cheap one was sending our ISP corrupt signals or something I don't know..

Anyway, I bought a used D-Link airplus xtreme g and it came w/o a cd. I can't figure out how to set it up. It's probubly pretty easy but can you guys help me out?

Thanks!

__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2007, 03:43 AM   #2
Professor Frink
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Professor Frink's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 3,106
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts

Default

Usually you can just plug in the IP address for the router into your browser and set it up from there. You can probably google the IP address for that particular router and go from there.

__________________
Primary: Cherrywood Smoked Porter
60 Minute IPA
Secondary:
On tap:Amber Ale
Milk Stout

Lagering:


http://www.lazydogbrewery.com
Professor Frink is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2007, 04:05 AM   #3
Whiskey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mccordsville, Indiana
Posts: 734
Liked 10 Times on 10 Posts

Default

Or visit d-links website and download drivers, manual, etc for the router. Just enter the router's model number, should be DWL-G650 or something along those lines.

http://support.dlink.com/downloads/















'

__________________
Insert catchy signature here....

Whiskey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2007, 04:50 AM   #4
Blender
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Blender's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Santa Cruz, CA.
Posts: 3,116
Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default

You won't need a driver for a router. The address is likely to be 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.0. They seem to be the most common. You can set it through any browser.

__________________

Gary

Blender is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2007, 10:28 AM   #5
Kevin Dean
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Kevin Dean's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 1,377
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blender
The address is likely to be 192.168.0.1 or 192.168.1.0
The two most common I've seen are 192.168.1.1 (about 90% of the time) or 10.0.0.2 (about 5%) and any random (valid) IP address making up the rest.

The suggestion to get the manual is probably the best. The first thing I'd do, however, is turn the router on (doesn't have to be connected) and press the "Reset" button with a paper clip or pen, this will make following the manual instructions much easier.
__________________
Free State Project liaison to the homebrew hobby!

"What's your name? Well my mom calls me Son, and my cat calls me Meow, either will do." -- Sam Dodson of the Obscured Truth Network
Kevin Dean is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2007, 10:33 AM   #6
kappclark
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kappclark's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Southern VT
Posts: 1,608
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Yes - the 192. 168.x.x addresses should work for that unit....

Be sure to reset the unit before trying the browser - always good advice. Website will have everything you need ...

Also - don't forget to get the latest firmware updates, if needed.

__________________

Bill Clark
Windham, VT

kappclark is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2007, 02:41 PM   #7
Alamo_Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Alamo_Beer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Manor, Tx
Posts: 2,481
Liked 8 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Hey hey get the manual...didn't think of that!

Thanks guys, I'll play with it when I get home. Thanks for the advice!

__________________
Alamo_Beer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone hack their Linksys or other router? 98EXL General Chit Chat 62 11-21-2009 06:18 PM
For Sale - Cisco Wireless AP Hunlock For Sale 0 07-15-2009 02:58 AM
Wireless USB Munsoned DIY Projects 2 04-29-2009 08:31 PM
Need router help Fingers General Chit Chat 15 01-26-2009 11:00 PM
Turn a $60 router into a $600 router CodeRage General Chit Chat 7 02-10-2008 11:48 PM