Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > How did you quit smoking?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2008, 12:51 AM   #1
Redweasel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default How did you quit smoking?

Going to try to quit (again) after 15 years of 2 pack a day. I already know I'm in for a long fight and I'm going to be a bitch to live with. What have you people tried? I'm very serious abut it this time as it is affecting my health. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-25-2008, 12:55 AM   #2
Gnome
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I started brewing and couldn't afford cigarettes anymore. Actually went to a hypnotist one time and it worked for me but not the girlfriend.

The Older I get the Faster I use to be.

Old 03-25-2008, 01:02 AM   #3
kaptain_karma

Recipes 

To be fair, I still smoke, but when I want to smoke and can't, I fold oragami. It's calming and gives me something to do with my hands.

Old 03-25-2008, 01:04 AM   #4
enderwig

Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

I used the patches. I did each step for 1 week. I figured if that didn't work, then I would just be getting addicted to the patches. It's been about 15 months now, and I am still smoke free.

Old 03-25-2008, 01:08 AM   #5
kornkob
Resident Crazy Uncle
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 3

I'm no help. I don't think I was ever addicted. I think it really was a habit in my case. Specific circumstances or behavior chains would make me want to smoke-- but if I never hit any of those triggers I could go for a pretty long time without realizing I hadn't smoked. No withdrawal, no 'nic fits'. Just the occasional 'what is missing here' feeling and getting used to new way I feel when I'm getting drunk without the nicotine high.