Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Home A/V Question
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-05-2008, 01:20 AM   #1
Ryan_PA
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,913
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Home A/V Question

I am in negotiations for a home to be built. We are planning on having a power outlet and cable outlet on the wall in 2 locations to wall mount flat screen tvs. In thinking about it, and I may be stupid here, but if you wall mount the TV, where does the cable box go? The area we are moving to only offers satellite and the much more affordable cable tv providers.

__________________
Ryan_PA is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 01:37 AM   #2
MA_Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MA_Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northborough, MA
Posts: 376
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

In my last house, it was in the basement under the master bed room. In this house, they are in the closet behind the family room TV and in the closet behind the Master TV. You will need the cable TV jack near the box, and you will need an HDMI cable from the box to the TV (at least a cable path - maybe they can leave a pull string for you so you can pull cables at a later time) Oh, and power for both the TV and the box.

__________________
MA_Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 01:44 AM   #3
olllllo
[]-O-[]
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
olllllo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 13,514
Liked 125 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Some models of TV are ready to accept the cable/satellite tv cards but that whole process is messed up.

I have HDTV via Directv (DVR) with 1080p units running component video over 50 feet in one instance.

Consider where the cable box/DVD player, etc might go and make sure you can route all of the HDMI, component, and/or audio cables.

Also consider telephone (for PPV which they say is required but you can get out of that) and Cat6 cable for a PC or other streaming device.

__________________
Rabbit And Coyote Schwag
Rob - Phoenix Ambassador to Milwaukee
Where did your avatar go?
Ginger Beer for Moscow Mules Bacon Vodka
Twitter
olllllo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 01:46 AM   #4
olllllo
[]-O-[]
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
olllllo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 13,514
Liked 125 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Oh and go get a qoute from an audio video place for pre-close (if your builder will allow it) and post-close (ie opening up the walls).

__________________
Rabbit And Coyote Schwag
Rob - Phoenix Ambassador to Milwaukee
Where did your avatar go?
Ginger Beer for Moscow Mules Bacon Vodka
Twitter
olllllo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 01:47 AM   #5
budbo
Beer is good
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
budbo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: La Plata, MD
Posts: 2,253
Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan_PA View Post
I am in negotiations for a home to be built. We are planning on having a power outlet and cable outlet on the wall in 2 locations to wall mount flat screen tvs. In thinking about it, and I may be stupid here, but if you wall mount the TV, where does the cable box go? The area we are moving to only offers satellite and the much more affordable cable tv providers.
I had my whole house wired with Cat5e, Dual Video, and digital phone jacks.

What we did in the TV room was have them run Mini Coax and HDMI from the corner to the TV mount then bought a corner TV stand for the box, DVD,VCR , and Home theater. If you are building I highly recommend having them wire the walls for speakers also. I have 3 panels hidden by the corner unit (HDMI/mini coax), Speaker plate, and the input box. You can also have them run a conduit from the roof for the Dish wires so none show outside.

Not sure what cable company you have but I get 250 channels plus 80HD channels for $20 a month less than comcast charges for 120 channels with no HD (gotta pay even more for that)
__________________
budbo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 01:50 AM   #6
Ryan_PA
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Philly, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,913
Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

So instead of a cable outlet in the wall I would need something like this:
http://www.directron.com/1porthdmiwp.html

And the other end near wherever I am putting the cable box.

__________________
Ryan_PA is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 01:53 AM   #7
ohiobrewtus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ohiobrewtus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,814
Liked 37 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You have a couple of options. You could put the satellite /cable receiver in the same room, so that your remote will still be able to send commands to it, or you could put the receiver somplace like the basement and run in IR lead from the room that you're gong to have the TV installed in to the location of your receiver.

FWIW, run your own cable if you're capable. I ran all my own phone, coax, cat5 and speaker wire when we built our house. It saved me about $6k when compared to the quotes that I got minus the cost of the cable. All you need are some low voltage electrical boxes, the wire, and a drill with a wood boring bit. My builder had no problem with me coming in and doing it myself.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_bird
Well, if you *love* it.... again, note that my A.S.S. has five pounds.
ohiobrewtus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 02:05 AM   #8
menschmaschine
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,278
Liked 31 Times on 26 Posts

Default

The most versatile thing to do is run some 2" PVC inside the wall from the bottom (receptacle level), up the wall to where the TV will come out. Just put an empty electrician's box at each end (and nailed to a stud) and drill a hole in the bottom (of the top one) and the top (of the bottom one) for the PVC to terminate into. You can do this after framing and electrical rough-in. Just sneak in on a weekend. (Or try to get the builder to do it and pay out the ass.) Then when the drywallers come through, they won't drywall over it because the boxes will look like receptacle boxes. When the house is going to finish, the boxes can just be covered up with a blank plate. Then you can run whatever you want up that wall.

Also, FYI... when I built my house, I came in after electrical rough-in and wired the whole house for sound and home theater and measured the exact points where I left all the wire terminations. After we moved in, I bought all the parts (speakers, volume controls, sound input/distribution boxes), cut out drywall and installed everything. Now we have speakers in the ceilings and on the walls (home theater), even outside on the screened-in porch, and we love it! Plus I saved thousands by DIY-ing it.

__________________

END TRANSMISSION

menschmaschine is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 02:14 AM   #9
olllllo
[]-O-[]
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
olllllo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 13,514
Liked 125 Times on 106 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

Yea. DIY if you can, but some builders are real pricks about it.

It's somewhat justifiable these days when tweekers come by and steal alll of the copper out of unfinished houses.

__________________
Rabbit And Coyote Schwag
Rob - Phoenix Ambassador to Milwaukee
Where did your avatar go?
Ginger Beer for Moscow Mules Bacon Vodka
Twitter
olllllo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2008, 02:38 AM   #10
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,014
Liked 975 Times on 652 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

IMHO, it's completely counter productive to mount a slim display on the wall and still have a bunch of components exposed on a stand. Do you have any closets or basement space within about 20' of the display? Have you considered front projection instead of LCD?

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home network question GregR General Chit Chat 4 07-22-2009 04:28 PM
Home Builders - Question bulletproof4age General Chit Chat 10 05-17-2009 01:21 PM
Another home malting question ericd General Techniques 5 03-09-2009 03:52 PM
Home grown apfelwein question snazzy Cider Forum 5 08-30-2008 10:02 PM
Home Buying Question: Easements JustDave General Chit Chat 10 02-09-2008 09:59 AM