Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Cigar Storage, Repair & Maintenance???

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2009, 06:06 PM   #1
Schlenkerla
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 87 Times on 65 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Cigar Storage, Repair & Maintenance???

OK - I'm getting ready to move, packing up boxes emptying out a desk and low and behold I found two boxes of cigars plus a large bag of panatelas!

They are all dry as fricken hell.

Question: Are they garbage or can they be rehydrated?

Obviously, I'm not a big cigar guy, I slowed down on the smoking once I started brewing. Frankly, I totally forgot about these.

The two boxes are a mixed variety of 2nds from Thompsons. The sizes are coronas, lonsdales, churchills and robustos and bag of panatelas have a Sumatra label.

Thanks!!!!

BS Nano-Brewery

Primary: SNPA Clone, Apfelwein
2ndary: Empty
Drinking: Dead Ringer IPA, Ma Duece (50 caliber) - Malt Liquor, Cranberry Wheat
Next: Cali-Common, American Amber, Smoked to Helles

|Myeast 50327|Easy Hop Oast|Smoked Homebrew|

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-15-2009, 06:12 PM   #2
FireNightFly
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Find a jar that leaves enough top room to fit a piece of a wet spunge on the inside of the lid. CLose them in together and slowly they should rehydrate. No gurantee on having that original taste, but is still smokable and better than wasting.

For future use of cigar boxes, you can turn each on into a small humidor with a strip of velcro and sponges.

Old 09-15-2009, 07:20 PM   #3
menschmaschine
Recipes 

Liked 32 Times on 27 Posts

Assuming they're worth keeping... "seconds" (technically there's no such thing, they're really cigars rolled by novice rollers and with lower quality tobaccos) from Thompson?... questionable.