Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Car Tire question

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-08-2013, 07:17 PM   #11
Cider123
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 201 Times on 123 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Yes, some of the brands sounded strange to me. I found one place that sells mostly Cooper tires. At least I've heard of them and the treads look pretty decent for all seasons. They are the ones I'm thinking of now. The 40,000 is $90 and the 65,000 is $115 each plus balancing and other nickle and dimes. I am a pretty average style driver. All my traveling is on paved country roads. But, our winters can be harsh. I need an all season tread for winter. Although I did ok today in the beginning of a blizzard and my tires are almost bald.

I like beer

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2013, 11:48 PM   #12
JRems
Recipes 

Liked 58 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 9

I honestly never buy "new" tires. The last 3 sets I have bought have been from craigslist. It's worth a look before buying new tires. One set was $600 on tirerack and they were still new and had the stickers on them for $250. The other set maybe had 10,000 miles on them for $150. Just another option to think about.

Old 02-09-2013, 01:21 AM   #13
whoaru99
Recipes 

Liked 124 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Used is what I did for my last set of truck tires. $100 for all four, still on the factory aluminum wheels. Granted, they are only about 50-60% tread and more of a highway-style vs. all-terrain, but suits my current needs at one heck of a lot less cost.

Primary: Pre-prohibition Lager
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Drinking: Chinook IPA
Drinking: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein

Old 02-09-2013, 02:11 AM   #14
dkwolf
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 165 Times on 111 Posts
Likes Given: 47