*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > Any environmental scientists out there?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2012, 03:00 PM   #11
Darwin18
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 681 Times on 495 Posts
Likes Given: 404

@Mogwai

I'm an environmental scientist for ARCADIS in North Carolina but also worked in New York for a few years. My work is primarily managing sites with soil and groundwater remediation from petroleum and solvent releases.

There is really no nice way to say this, but a degree in environmental science (whether it's a masters or an undergraduate) isn't going to get you very fair in private industry. To really advance in this industry you need a means to obtain a Professional Geologist (PG) or Professional Engineer (PE) license. Many states are either at or moving towards making this license a requirement for sealing reports to state and federal environmental agencies for review.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-14-2012, 03:13 PM   #12
BoomerHarley
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 22

I disagree. I'm a fisheries biologist for URS. While having a PG or PE will definitely help, depending on his focus and background, it's not necessary. I think the best thing he can do is find a company to intern at. Work experience is always very valuable, more so than any registration.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darwin18 View Post
@Mogwai

I'm an environmental scientist for ARCADIS in North Carolina but also worked in New York for a few years. My work is primarily managing sites with soil and groundwater remediation from petroleum and solvent releases.