Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Meat Smoking, Curing and Sausage Making > Weber Kettle Thread!

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2014, 01:05 PM   #1
JonM
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 770 Times on 543 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default Weber Kettle Thread!

I got a 22.5 Weber Kettle charcoal grill a while back, and I'm just starting to learn the subtleties and all the tricks to really do some good grilling. I used to just fire up a whole chimney (or God forbid, build a pyramid and light it with lighter fluid) and have at it, but I've recently gotten to learn all about direct vs. indirect grilling, temperature and airflow control, and some other tips, so I thought I'd share and give a place for others to share too. (But at the same time, I don't really want to restart the gas vs. charcoal, lump vs. briquette debates, etc.)

I'll start:

I grill with the top vent wide open and I use the bottom vents to control the temps. That lets me put a cheap oven thermometer right under the top vent, so I can see the temp without opening the lid.

Charcoal rails are awesome - it allows me to set up pretty much any configuration for direct or indirect grilling.

I only need about 1/3 of a chimney for most cooks.

Vegetables (especially sliced beets, carrots, asparagus, and Brussels sprouts) are super, super tasty off the grill.

Steaks and burgers get high direct heat. Most seafood and veggies get medium direct heat. Everything else is indirect.

It's never too cold outside for grilling.

Anyway, that's all for now. Happy grilling, folks and can't wait to hear others' tips and tricks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2014, 01:28 PM   #2
cramar
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

I've got the same BBQ, it is a great unit.