Electric Brewing Supply 30A BCS Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Meat Smoking, Curing and Sausage Making > Stumps Clone build underway

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2011, 12:35 PM   #1
dfess1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 89 Times on 63 Posts
Likes Given: 79

Default Stumps Clone build underway

Sunday 5/22 (yes, we made it through the rapture), I started to learn to weld. After running some sample beads on a piece of scrap, I graduated to these two pieces.

They didn't come out too bad for only a half hour in!

Then it was onto the fire grate. This is a shot of it still "warm". Tomorrow morning I'll be back out to grind down the welds. These aren't quite as nice as the test pieces, but Dad says they should hold no problem. Maybe once they are ground down, they'll look a little nicer.

Should start on the shelving tomorrow, or possibly the frame, not sure yet. We'll see, but I"ll be updating this (hopefully daily, all depends on how tired I am, and whether I remember to take pics along the way).

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2011, 12:36 PM   #2
dfess1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Ok, time for an update. We have the frame welded up, and the angle iron for the trays. I will be welding up the expanded steel for the trays as time permits, and we aren't working on the frame itself. We're still waiting for the firebox to come back from the fabricator, as Dad doesn't have the equipment to weld 1/2" plate.

Here's a shot of the frame:

The lower piece in the front (the really crappy looking one) is just tacked to hold it square. We are keeping the bottom support to do towards the end so that we can get in and weld in the cook chamber skins. This way it isn't completely in the way.

Saturday we pick up a trailer and try to modify that to suit our needs.

Old 05-31-2011, 11:20 AM   #3
dfess1
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Ok, It's tues 5/31, and we got some more accomplished this weekend.