The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Food and Beverage > Meat Smoking, Curing and Sausage Making > Lactobacillus in Salami

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2011, 04:03 PM   #1
telemaster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Lactobacillus in Salami

Hi everyone. I am going to make my first batch of salami pretty soon, and am super stoked. I have been making various fresh sausages for 4 years, but now it is time to start with the dry cured delicacies. I am using a Len Poli recipe (those who don't know should check out his website).

Anyhow, I am curious about this "lactic starter" that the recipe calls for. I understand why it is important and what it does. What I am curious about is where to find it and what I might be able to substitute. I found a place online, but they sell it in 40 gram bags... enough to do 500lbs of meat. A lot more than I need for my 8lb batch.

I guess I have two questions.

1. Does anyone have a supplier for smaller quantities of the stuff?

2. Could I substitute the Lactobacillus Activator Wyeast 5335 instead?

Thanks in advance.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2011, 09:49 PM   #2
android
Recipes 

Liked 37 Times on 31 Posts
Likes Given: 3