Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Is it worth going elecrtic right away?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2011, 07:00 PM   #1
Pixalated
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 218
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default Is it worth going elecrtic right away?

I am very new to brewing, only brewed twice. I am already thinking about all grain, but know that my stove will struggle to do 5 boils. The way I see it, my options are to either get a propane burner, or look into electric.

What attracts me to electric, is the ability to move the brew operations out of the kitchen and into the basement. How difficult is it? I looked though the threads, and most of you guys seems to be doing huge boils with quite a lot of equipment involved. Is it worth considering electric for just 5 gallon batches?

__________________
Pixalated is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 07:19 PM   #2
DakotaPrerunner
Fortis et Egregius
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DakotaPrerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonds, Wa
Posts: 171
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Check this out.

__________________
DakotaPrerunner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 07:19 PM   #3
Cpt_Kirks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lakeland TN
Posts: 3,740
Liked 45 Times on 39 Posts

Default

A heatstick is pretty easy to make. With a 1500 or 2000 watt stick, stove top boils should be a snap. If you have access to two 20A circuits, you can run two heatsticks in the basement.

You don't have to go complex to go all electric.

__________________
Cpt_Kirks is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 07:50 PM   #4
ayoungrad
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,100
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I live in a highrise condo (may or may not be relevant). How can I find out if I have 20A circuits?

__________________
ayoungrad is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 08:25 PM   #5
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,254
Liked 33 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Plug a lamp or something into the outlet you want to use and turn it on. go over the to breaker and start flipping the breakers that say 20 and 15. Once the lamp turns off you found that circuit. Take note of that breakers rating. rinse and repeat for the second circuit.

__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"
CodeRage is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 08:26 PM   #6
DakotaPrerunner
Fortis et Egregius
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DakotaPrerunner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Edmonds, Wa
Posts: 171
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

ayoungrad,

there should be a circuit breaker panel in your unit. Check the breakers, they are labeled. Standard household circuits are 20 amp. Depending on the year of your building the kitchen and bathroom should be GFCI protected either at the panel or at the outlet. Be careful when thinking about using more than one element. Most apartment kitchens only have one circuit even if there are two or more outlets.

__________________
DakotaPrerunner is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2011, 09:37 PM   #7
Gritsak
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: IN
Posts: 593
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts

Default

2000w heastick in conjunction with my dinky 1/2 size apartment stove and have no issues boiling 8 gallons.

__________________

I brew lots of beer.

Gritsak is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS