New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Wiring a Spa Disconnect




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-10-2010, 06:49 PM   #1
Chefkeith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Chefkeith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 111
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Wiring a Spa Disconnect

OK, I've read several accounts of people using spa disconnects here on the forums, but I'm still a little unclear about the actual wiring.

Currently, I'd like to use the 50 amp spa disconnect with GFCI as sort of an in-line GFCI. Is it acceptable to use it in this manner, or does it need to be mounted to a surface?

Secondly, I'm using a four-pronged range outlet that's on a 40 amp circuit. My control panel for my brewery is wired for 30 amps. Can I install a 30 amp breaker in the spa disconnect to protect against overload while using the 50 amp breaker for GFCI? It seems that I remember someone here doing that, but I don't think it was discussed in depth. I'm not even sure I could install another circuit breaker in the spa disconnect (I realize I would have to cut a hole).

Third, and I think there's some conflicting views on this point, would it be OK to use 10 awg wire from the range outlet to the disconnect since it won't be pulling any more than 30 amps?

I would just get a 50 amp GFCI to install in the main breaker box, but I need to use the range circuit for the time being (40 amps, so that's a no-go) until I complete my brewery, which will have a dedicated 50 amp circuit.

Thanks!



__________________

Last edited by Chefkeith; 12-11-2010 at 03:14 PM.
Chefkeith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2010, 07:08 PM   #2
Chefkeith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Chefkeith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 111
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

On second thought, I'm going to temporarily install a 30 amp breaker in the main box and use the 50 amp spa disconnect from Home Depot in line.

It's just a pain to swap breakers every time I brew. Guess I'll just have to get to work on my brew space.



__________________
Chefkeith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2010, 09:17 PM   #3
DeafSmith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
DeafSmith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 1,447
Liked 31 Times on 29 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

I have one of these as an on/off switch for my electric brew stove:

http://www.lowes.com/pd_12587-1318-LF211NU_0__?productId=1008293&Ntt=disconnect+switc h&pl=1&currentURL=%2Fpl__0__s%3FNtt%3Ddisconnect%2 Bswitch

except that mine is made by SquareD. The box cost me about $13 plus a few bucks for the fuses - I'm pretty sure it was less than $20 total. So you could limit the current to your control panel by using 30 amp fuses plus you have a master on/off switch.

__________________
DeafSmith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2010, 09:33 PM   #4
Chefkeith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Chefkeith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 111
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks for the tip!

__________________
Chefkeith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2010, 10:20 PM   #5
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Piscataway, NJ
Posts: 21,731
Liked 853 Times on 572 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

Yes, you can run a 30 amp breaker in the main panel and then run it through the 50a GFI spa panel to gain the GFI function. None of the wiring should be rated for less than 30a.

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2010, 11:31 PM   #6
Chefkeith
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Chefkeith's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Peoria, Illinois
Posts: 111
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Thanks for the confirmation, Bobby - I thought that would be OK. I just finished all the wiring. Time to drill holes!



__________________
Chefkeith is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASL-51 timer wiring rgrrbt Electric Brewing 24 09-13-2012 12:34 AM
Simple PID Wiring mcgeebc Electric Brewing 5 12-10-2010 09:06 PM
help with transformer wiring Budzu Electric Brewing 11 11-11-2010 08:32 PM
Pid Wiring Question... Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 11 11-01-2010 02:24 AM
GFCI wiring? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 5 10-23-2010 08:53 PM