Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Will I Trip A Breaker?

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2012, 07:34 PM   #1
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Liked 37 Times on 28 Posts

Default Will I Trip A Breaker?

I'm buying an 1800w Burton Induction plate for my 2.5gl batch brewery. It will be in my basement and looking at my breaker it's only 15 amp and runs all the lights, computer, water heater exhaust and tv. This little 1800w thing is going to trip that breaker, isn't it? Any suggestions?

__________________
wobdee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 08:44 PM   #2
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,572
Liked 398 Times on 310 Posts
Likes Given: 601

Default

Well, 1800w @ 120volt = 15 Amps, so yeah....at full power it's gonna blow the breaker. You'll need to find another circuit to feed the plate. Sounds like you need a dedicated 20Amp circuit for that baby.

__________________
Hammy71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 09:18 PM   #3
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

I could be really easy to add a receptacle if your breaker panel is in the basement and you have a spare breaker or space to add one.

__________________
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 09:33 PM   #4
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Liked 37 Times on 28 Posts

Default

That's what I thought, panel is in the basement 30' away and it has room for a couple more breakers so I guess I have another project.

__________________
wobdee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 09:39 PM   #5
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 3,940
Liked 768 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 523

Default

That's the attitude! Once you start brewing projects, you should NEVER be done....

__________________
lschiavo is offline
neosapien Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2012, 11:56 PM   #6
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Liked 37 Times on 28 Posts

Default

I also have a 20a circuit that has my microwave only on it. I could tap into it and just not use the microwave when brewing.

__________________
wobdee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:04 AM   #7
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,235
Liked 121 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

Hope you live alone? Know at my house, a @#%! bag of popcorn would certainly take precedence over whatever ol' hubby/dad is doing in the basement.......

__________________
501irishred is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:07 AM   #8
mgortel
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Stewartstown, PA
Posts: 769
Liked 31 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Just make sure you unplug microwave before using Induction Plate

Maybe leave a note not to use.....

__________________

EVERYONE is entitled to my opinion!

Primary #1: Fat Tire Clone
Primary #2: Oatmeal Stout
Primary #3: Empty

Upcoming Brews:
English Pale Ale

Bottled:
Biermuncher Centennail Blonde

mgortel is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2012, 12:08 AM   #9
501irishred
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
501irishred's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 1,235
Liked 121 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

You could run a dedicated circuit for less than $50......Ya only live once!

__________________
501irishred is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2012, 12:16 AM   #10
wobdee
Junior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Lake Wissota, Wisconsin
Posts: 501
Liked 37 Times on 28 Posts

Default

I ran the wire today and have an electrician coming out tomorrow to hook up the breaker. Might as well get it done right and safe.

__________________
wobdee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 AMP GFI Breaker louie0202 Electric Brewing 6 09-27-2012 01:54 PM
Spa Panel vs GFI Breaker? rack04 Electric Brewing 24 09-03-2012 04:34 PM
Cheap 30 amp GFI breaker brewhokie Electric Brewing 5 01-28-2012 05:59 PM
main breaker box - relationship of main breaker to others badmajon DIY Projects 4 03-20-2011 10:53 PM
Why did my circit breaker pop? Photopilot Equipment/Sanitation 35 03-11-2010 04:35 PM